1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

.NET Framework and ATI Radeon Graphics

Discussion in 'Games' started by JohnO28356, Jan 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JohnO28356

    JohnO28356 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    865
    I recently read that the Radeon cards require .NET to run at their best. The only thing I see on the ATI site is that .NET is required to download their large upgrade files for Catalyst, etc. The driver only upgrade files apparently don't need .NET. So, what's the answer? It seems to me that if .NET was required, ATI would put it on the installation CD, or at least mention it's needed.
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I'm wondering if this is meant to apply to driver installs meant for "Media Center" PC's ?

    I haven't looked into it, and my last Radeon 9700 install was for Catalyst 4.6 -- but had no problems with that and .net framework was not installed on the machine at that time (it is now).
     
  3. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    You only need .net to run the new catalyst control center. If you use the old catalyst control panel insted of the control center you don't need it. Pay attention when you download drivers. You have the choice of center or panel. Take panel and forget .net.
     
  4. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    ATI will probably start putting it on their CD's now, as it was released pretty recently. There are 2 different driver downloads now, one with the new control panel, and one without. Both of them will give the same performance, only the control panel is different. If you want the new one, then install .NET and get the one that says control center, otherwise, just get the one that says regular control panel.
     
  5. JohnO28356

    JohnO28356 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    865
    Thanks for the information. I'll forget .NET. I did install it, but uninstalled after a few days. To me it seems like just another big MS bloat at this time. Will probably have to have it in the not so distant future, though.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Framework Radeon Graphics
  1. Hermironry
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    323
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324704

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice