Net On And Off

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

salcano

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
131
Hi There


lately my net has been going on and off, i done a network scan and it fails on this how can i fix this thanks
 

Attachments

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.

  1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
  2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
  3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?



Let's see this as well.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

salcano

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
131
Hi there there is nothing with x or ? or ! in device manager

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Compaq_Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-447023ae6b
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adap
ter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D4-09-5D-F3
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 82.36.231.57
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 82.36.231.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.30.192.114
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03 October 2008 22:46:03
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 10 October 2008 22:14:21

C:\Documents and Settings\Compaq_Owner>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
This appears to be a direct connection to a modem, when the network fails, does the data light go out on the modem?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
What does that mean? Is the data light on all the time, or off all the time?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top