1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Net Speed extremely Slow

Discussion in 'Networking' started by TammyHanna, May 26, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TammyHanna

    TammyHanna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    I was talking to my Isp and my Isp said my net speed was supposed to be at 100.0 and it is at 10.0can someone please tell me how or if there is away to adjust my net speed on my computor. Thank you in advance I greatly appreciate your help. attached is the speed my Computor is at right now.

    here are my Specs:

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 240 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3839 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4200, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 476838 MB, Free - 398902 MB;
    Motherboard: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD, 785GTM-E45 (MS-7549)
    Antivirus: Panda Internet Security 2016, Updated and Enabled
     

    Attached Files:

  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,961
    First Name:
    Wayne
    10/100/1000
    are settings / specs for LAN connections

    how is your computer connected , is it wireless or by cable
    is this the only device you have - if not what other devices , how are they connected and what speed do they get
    whats the make and model of the router
    often the LAN light will show a different colour if on 10 or 100
    what sort of cable are you using to connect the PC

    you may also want to have a look at the properties of the LAN adapter in device manager - and see what setting its using - but lets see replies to all the above first
     
  3. TammyHanna

    TammyHanna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    the Isp said my Lan is supposed to be 100 and I am wireless and the Isp said it has to do with my speed in my computor
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,961
    First Name:
    Wayne
    and the other questions
     
  5. TammyHanna

    TammyHanna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Yes this is the only device I have and I don't have a router Im with Cogeco I have an Arris box.
     
  6. TammyHanna

    TammyHanna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    I am very sorry I don't know Much about these thing's I am trying my best to give you the information you need to know. I am not computor savoy I am trying my best here to give you the information you need. The Isp said was a setting in my Lan adapter
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,961
    First Name:
    Wayne
  8. TammyHanna

    TammyHanna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Yes it has Model number on it and this only numbers I see on it Arris Model TM722G
     
  9. TammyHanna

    TammyHanna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    I'm In Canada
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,961
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. TammyHanna

    TammyHanna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Yes that is the box and model the cable is connected to the Tv and my Phone is threw Cogeco as well all three are connected together
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,961
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets start again

    you have a cable modem
    that has a cable is connected to What (make and model )
    you mentioned you had no other devices - but you do have a phone - is that connected by wifi to the router ( if you have wifi - you have a router)
    whats the make and model of the phone
    you can do a speedtest on the phone , while connected to the wireless

    you can use this
    http://speedof.me/
    to check speed on phones

    you dont really need to know much - only describe how things are connected and any makes and model
    Just describe what you have please , as best you can
     
  13. TammyHanna

    TammyHanna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    I have a cable wire connecting into the arris box. I don't understand why the Isp is telling me that I am wireless when I have a cable connecting to Arris Box. Why would they tell me I have a problem with my Lan I am very very confused at this Moment. How do I run the speed test on the phone I don't understand how to do that. all I can describe is that when my Net goes out my phone goes with it. the Cable for the tv is seperate and from the net and the phone.
     
  14. TammyHanna

    TammyHanna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    here is the test for that link you gave me I just pushed start on it
     

    Attached Files:

  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,961
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Thanks
    so its the same for the phone and also for the PC
    so its unlikely to be the PC

    just to recap

    the cable company supplies a cable from outside the house
    this splits and goes two ways
    One cable then goes into the arris modem
    the other cable goes to the TV

    is that correct

    the Arris modem - then has a cable coming out of a socket - these are normally labelled 1-4

    so you need to complete the description as i have started (or correct if wrong ) above
    just keep its as descriptive as possible - so we can try and get a picture of how everything is connected

    BUT
    if the phone is connected by wifi to your network
    and if the PC is also connected by wifi to your network
    and they both give the same speedtests - then it must be something common to the both devices
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1171913

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice