1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Netbook connects to router but not internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by chimeradon, Aug 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chimeradon

    chimeradon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I've been struggling with my Gateway LT40 for some time now. On wireless it will connect to my router, but shows my LAN as an unidentified network. I can see and ping the other computers on my network, but when I ping the router I get 'Destination unreachable'. Ethernet works fine, I can see the internet and my network. I have tried just about everything I have found on numerous troubleshooting sites without success.

    Here is my ipconfig:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Gerbil
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR5B125 Wireless Network
    Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-06-E6-11-F1-09
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::85ec:250:5cf4:de2b%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.12(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, August 03, 2013 9:10:33 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, August 03, 2013 10:10:33 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 249562854
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-8B-D7-F7-E0-06-E6-11-F1-09

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 77.244.98.19
    77.244.99.19
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    and a screenshot from Xirrus
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    I see that that is a Wireless N signal. Can your Network Adapter pick up Wireless N signals?

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe).

    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.

    Information about your computer will appear.

    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the entire text here.
     
  3. chimeradon

    chimeradon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    So far as I know, the network adapter is a Qualcomm Atheros AR5B125 Wireless Network Adapter and it supports N. My router definitely supports N as I have 5 other devices connected via N. The router is an ARRIS TG862G

    Here is the TSG Sysinfo, and I attached a screenshot showing the adapter and the driver I have installed (which is the most current that I am aware of).

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Starter, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N2600 @ 1.60GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 54 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 1012 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator 3600 Series, 2 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 291830 MB, Free - 272848 MB;
    Motherboard: Gateway, SJE01_CT
    Antivirus: None
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,198
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    try a tcp/ip reset - if that still does not work

    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows Vista/Windows 7
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. chimeradon

    chimeradon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I have not installed any AV/firewall/security software. It included Norton Internet Security trial-ware which I uninstalled. I am working from a fresh restore to factory default, the only changes I have made are updating drivers (using slimdrivers, and including the wireless driver), uninstalling Norton and some other junkware, and updating windows with all updates. The problem was present before all of these changes and persists afterward.

    I reset Winsock as directed, here are the results of the commands:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>

    problem persists after restart. Booted to Safemode with networking and the problem persists.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,198
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you use the norton removal tool
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time or even a third time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC

    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current
    https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us...&ispid=&pvid=f-core-cur&q=Norton+Removal+Tool

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,606
    First Name:
    Terry
    Don't know what this could be other than some strange vindictive remnant of Norton. But, make sure you have the latest wireless driver from Gateway's web site.
     
  8. chimeradon

    chimeradon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    No dice. Ran the tool 4 times, problem persists. Started in safe mode with networking after uninstalling and still doesn't work. Disabled Windows firewall completely and still doesn't work.

    This has completely baffled me. All signs point to some software interfering with TCP/IP, but I haven't been able to figure out what and I've run out of ideas. My next step is to install linux and see if the problem persists in a non-windows environment. Any other ideas?
     
  9. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Only other thing I can think of is malware in the background.

    Worked on a machine last week (not on these forums) that couldn't connect to the internet but had no obvious symptoms of malware.

    Did a few scans and it was clean.

    It may be worth a shot to follow the directions below if you would like to pursue that avenue.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    You need to start a thread in the Virus & Other Malware Removal section of this site.

    Before you post though, you need to read this guide.

    Only Trusted Advisors [​IMG] or Malware Removal Experts [​IMG] are allowed to analyze HijackThis logs or help with malware removal of any kind.

    If anyone without these designations offers advice on malware removal, do not follow them, and report their post.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1105211

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice