1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

netgear n150 internet connection problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by fairmont99, Aug 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fairmont99

    fairmont99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I purchased a netgear n150 2 months ago, with one connection wired to the router and using another PC, PS3 and smartphone wirelessly and have been using it fine for the first month or so. Now the wired connection loses connection or is not able to connect at all sometimes (not able to acquire ip address). While the wireless connections all work fine. Turning off/on the router sometimes helps but not always. I have tried to connect the problem pc wirelessly but with no luck.

    If I connect my previous modem, a sagem f@st 1201, it connects fine.

    Please help
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    what the make and model of the pc that will not connect

    is it only this PC have you tried the cable on the other PC (looks like you have two PCs )

    can we see the following from the faulty PC - when its working and when it disconnects
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labeled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. fairmont99

    fairmont99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    the computer is an intel e8200 @2.66ghz 3.25g of RAM

    Have tried the second pc with the wired connection and it worked fine.

    Working

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : nofuku
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros L1 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Base-T Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-C6-50-5B-95
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, August 07, 2012 5:22:03 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 08, 2012 5:22:03 PM
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Troy>ping goggle.com
    Pinging goggle.com [85.17.162.24] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 85.17.162.24: bytes=32 time=350ms TTL=52
    Reply from 85.17.162.24: bytes=32 time=351ms TTL=52
    Reply from 85.17.162.24: bytes=32 time=350ms TTL=52
    Reply from 85.17.162.24: bytes=32 time=344ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 85.17.162.24:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 344ms, Maximum = 351ms, Average = 348ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Troy>ping 209.183.226.152
    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=262ms TTL=51
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=256ms TTL=51
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=257ms TTL=51
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=253ms TTL=51
    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 253ms, Maximum = 262ms, Average = 257ms

    Not working

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : nofuku
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros L1 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Base-T Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-C6-50-5B-95
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.143.205
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    C:\Documents and Settings\Troy>ping 192.168.0.1
    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]

    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Troy>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again

    C:\Documents and Settings\Troy>ping 209.183.226.152
    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    its seems to have lost the connection to the router

    can you try the other PC connected by cable and see if that loses the connection

    is the CPU - do have the make and model of the PC - usually printed on the machine somewhere on a label
    Would be good to get the driver from the manufacturers website and update
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    With the same cable? Does the second pc also have gigabit ethernet?
     
  6. fairmont99

    fairmont99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    With a different network cable (longer),other computer has a different network cable.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    That's your original problem description. With the trouble shooting that has been done so far possible causes still include:

    a. the exact router LAN port used;

    b. the ethernet cable;

    c. hardware or software on the computer.

    I suspect (c), but since (c) includes a wide range of possibilities it would be nice if you could test (a) and (b) to find the cause or eliminate them as possibilities.
     
  8. fairmont99

    fairmont99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    The same cable has been tested on both PC's and worked fine on the non problem PC. Im not sure if the working PC has gigabit ethernet, could you explain how to find out please?

    The PC has no visable branding on the case.

    Thanks for your time and patience, I appreciate the help.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Sometimes it's obvious from the name of the ethernet adapter. Most time you have to search for the specs for the adapter. And sometimes that search, at least for me, is pretty fruitless. If you want us to try to help with that please give us the exact name of the adapter (as given in Device Manager).
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063882