1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Netgear router wifi slow/no connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bashmore83, Aug 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bashmore83

    bashmore83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Hi guys,
    I'm hoping someone can help with my ongoing wireless problems I'm having with Orange.
    The laptops in my flat are wirelessly connected to a Netgear N150 Wireless router and the connection is forever going from little to nothing. I've tried resetting everything, getting Orange to replace the router (a new Netgear N150) but still nothing. I've tried changing channels in the past but never seems to last. I can't work out if another wireless router in another flat is chomping into our connection

    Here's my ipconfig/all results:

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TheBashmore
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #
    2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 8C-A9-82-0C-CF-C5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 8C-A9-82-0C-CF-C5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 1000 BGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 8C-A9-82-0C-CF-C4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a9a0:c470:453c:3b27%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 02 August 2011 19:00:47
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 03 August 2011 19:10:24
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 244099458
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-E5-B9-99-F0-4D-A2-6C-01-4D

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F0-4D-A2-6C-01-4D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:14f6:20cb:fde6:da84(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::14f6:20cb:fde6:da84%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{AB56F899-FBFA-43BB-920D-18921FBB4FA3}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{7CF8DD2C-B531-415A-85A3-C9641828BBC3}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{516F2DFF-ADAB-4327-8863-94DFAF77A792}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{CDF68F08-3BDF-4DD4-9398-0AC956B9F3BD}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Here's the Ping:


    C:\Users\Bashmore>Ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3982ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 3982ms, Average = 1352ms


    Hoping someone could shed some light. It's really cheesing me off as two laptops and the PS3 just can't connect (or any connections fail after a short time). And it's been like this for around 6 months.
    Also, there's no problem when it's wired to the router

    Currently on channel 11, other people seem to be on 1, 11 or 7.

    Cheers very much all
     
  2. Computerpete

    Computerpete

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    A couple of questions
    1. Are you using your laptops in same room as your router.
    2. Is your router surrounded by electrical stuff like a radio, television


    P. Glynn
     
  3. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    May we see:
    Wifi test exe.

    Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspecto from
    www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen(networks screen) here.



    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button
    to upload it here.

    Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.

    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_...g_a_Screenshot
     
  4. bashmore83

    bashmore83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    [​IMG]

    Cheers for getting back to me chaps. Had to wait a couple of the days for the internet to stop titting about so I could download and upload the image.


    @Computerpete

    Router is in the room next door to the computers, but that's only about 13 steps away. There's a sonos audio system near it (which connects to the wifi to play) but it's been like it before I got it. And that goes all screwy with the internet too.

    This throw up any clues? From looking at it it seems to paint a normal picture but I spent ages trying to get the internet to even work today.

    Cheers. Bashmore
     

    Attached Files:

  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    There is a possibility that you might be competing with Plusnet's strong signal.
    I might change your channel to 1.See if that helps.
     
  6. bashmore83

    bashmore83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    I'll do that now and see what happens, will there be any danger with a couple of Sky's and TalkTalk's routers being on 1?

    I've tried channel hopping in the past but it seems to do little...will report back! Cheers
     
  7. bashmore83

    bashmore83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Well, I gave it a go and switched it to 1.

    Was fine for a short while but dropped really slow and then cut out repeatedly (trying to download off iTunes was a no go still). Any clues? Here's the recent wi fi inspector network thingy
    [​IMG]

    I tried to get my PS3 to connect as well....but zip happened still.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok.That's strange.Your signal strength dropped.
    When you set the channel in the router,any way to not auto select but force it to use channel one ?If it is using 5 you might still be competing with Plusnet.
     
  9. bashmore83

    bashmore83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    I changed the router mode from Up to 150Mbps to G&B and it then settled just on the channel 1.

    This is it at the moment:

    [​IMG]

    Take it that's a right thing to do? Or have I just made things worse by changing the mode (lack of knowledge alert). Will see how it responds to downloading off iTunes
     

    Attached Files:

  10. bashmore83

    bashmore83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    So, been on channel 1 and although loading up internet pages seems quicker, downloading speeds are still pretty awful.

    I've ran the tests on the wi-fi inspector and apparently and DNS Reachable and Gateway Reachable both have a 20% ping loss

    Also, [​IMG]

    On a side note, my router is Mixed WPA-PSK+WPA2-PSK. With my old router Orange said this may impact connection (?). Sounds like rubbish but is it true? Still pretty frustrated
     

    Attached Files:

  11. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    And your wireless signal has gotten weaker.Let's see if that improves if you go back to channel 11 only.
     
  12. bashmore83

    bashmore83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Done. It seems to be saying it's happier but it now keeps saying there's limited connection .

    [​IMG]

    I feel like it's getting closer but there's still something knackering it up. Should I post up details about the router's wireless settings? Would that be of any use?
     

    Attached Files:

    • pic.jpg
      pic.jpg
      File size:
      294.5 KB
      Views:
      4,271
  13. bashmore83

    bashmore83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    I used InSSSIDer in case it says anything different and got this reading. Would the O2 wireless router be interrupting mine on 11?

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  14. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Well,could be now.In previous screen shots ,his signal was much weaker.
    I don't understand the comment about limited connection.You appear to have a strong signal.
    May we see the results from the following pings:


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 8.8.8.8

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  15. bashmore83

    bashmore83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Okie dokie, it's all below (DNS & default gateway were the same numbers).

    It's weird, although it always says it's connected fine (and even now it's a pretty decent -56 RSSI) downloading is awful and slow and I still get loss of connection and an alert saying I have limited connection. It makes diddly squat sense.


    C:\Users\Bashmore>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 3ms

    C:\Users\Bashmore>ping 192.168.0.2

    Pinging 192.168.0.2 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Bashmore>ping 8.8.8.8

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=51
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=50
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=50
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 26ms, Maximum = 56ms, Average = 35ms

    C:\Users\Bashmore>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [98.137.149.56] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=191ms TTL=44
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=244ms TTL=44
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=169ms TTL=44
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=199ms TTL=44

    Ping statistics for 98.137.149.56:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 169ms, Maximum = 244ms, Average = 200ms
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1010395

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice