1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

netgear wireless router help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by spursfanatic, Dec 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. spursfanatic

spursfanatic Thread Starter

hiya, i'm pretty new to this so please bear with me.

i've just bought my son a wireless n 300 router and usb adapter kit (made by netgear) model wnb2100 on the box or wnr2000 on the router.

i've followed the instructions that come supplied and have the following connections:

1. cable from internet socket of router to internet socket on modem.
    2. cable from pc to ethernet socket 1 on router.

i get so far thru install wizard and then error pops up telling me no router detected.

help, been at this for 3 days and am really starting to lose it.

if you need any more info (bout what i'm doing wrong) just contact me.

ta in advance

2. Saga Lout

Saga Lout

Did the cable from the router uplink port to the MODEM come with the router? If the MODEM is by any chance supplied by Virgin, do you still have the blue cable that came with it? If so, try that one.

Can you also please go Start to Run (WinKey +R if Vista or Windows 7) and into the Open box type cmd /k /ipconfig (including the spaces) and hit Enter. Right click anywhere in the black form that follows and choose SelectAll. Pressing Enter places all that text into the Clipboard, transfer it to the computer you're posting from and paste it back here. Some details of that MODEM would be useful too.

3. spursfanatic

right, here goes,

am using virgin media as my isp. have used the lead supplied with the router from my pc to modem and connects fine.
    the modem i have is an old black ntl: cable modem. i have 10meg bb.

when i have the router, modem and pc hooked up i got the following info: