1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

netware 5.0 - volume disk full, users can't logon

Discussion in 'Networking' started by [email protected], Nov 30, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dor@parker

    [email protected] Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Upon logon, Users get an error message describing there are 0 bytes available. A directory of the server drive says 0 bytes available. It's an 8GB drive with very few programs on it. Deleting files from the server's hard drive does not free up any space????????
     
  2. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Try purging all the deleted files. Log in as Admin and in dos at the root of one of your network drive (ex. like f:\ [sys: on server1]) type 'purge /A' (without the quotes). Could take some time.
     
  3. dor@parker

    [email protected] Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks for the reply Angel.

    I'm partially illiterate...do I go to the dos prompt from windows?
    Does anyone else need to be logged off?

    Thanks again.
     
  4. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    I can't recall if you can do it directly at the server itself or not (wouldn't hurt to try).
    But, yes, login as Admin, go to Dos in Windows (Start>Run, type 'command' and hit [Enter]). Then go to the drive that's mapped to your sys: vol and type 'purge /A'
    You can see where a drive is mapped by simply going to My Computer and looking at the drive descriptions. If you don't have a drive mapped to the root of sys, you'll need to map one. You can do so in Network Neighborhood by going to that Server and right clicking the sys: vol, choose Map Network Drive.
    If you have multiple volumes, you'll need to purge on that one too.

    Oh, and it shouldn't be a prob with others logged on.
     
  5. dor@parker

    [email protected] Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    I ran the purge/a and it removed 8545 files, but the f: still shows "Disk free space 0 bytes".

    Other clues:

    There is a file on the root directory of F called "_swap_.mem" and it shows 0 bytes.

    Upon booting the server an error message comes up that says "error 810e processor 1 failed FRB level 3 timer"

    Any ideas?
     
  6. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Follow the instructions at <a href="http://support.intel.com/support/motherboards/server/n440bx/810E.htm">this</a> link and that *should* resolve your error.

    What version of Netware are you using, what version of the client, and were you logged on as Admin/Supervisor?
     
  7. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    And I just realized something you said earlier - USERS cannot log on. Are the USERS the only ones getting this message? Is it all USERS? Do you get it if you log on as Admin? If not, it sounds like there are restrictions in place.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60214

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice