1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network access halted

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Odyssey, Dec 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Odyssey

    Odyssey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    When I returned from two days travel, my linux computer has stopped finding the internet and can't print to network printer.

    router is DHCP

    ifconfig -a yields

    [email protected]:~$ ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 48:5b:39:94:28:00
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:44 Base address:0x4000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:149712 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:149712 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:11433552 (11.4 MB) TX bytes:11433552 (11.4 MB)

    whereas my Windows computer (plugged into the same ethernet router) shows the default gateway as 192.168.0.1. The windows computer finds the internet normally.

    If I try to ping either 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.0.105 (the windows computer) from the linux computer, it returns:

    "Network is unreachable"

    When I first installed Ubuntu (10.4) on the linux computer, I inadvertently gave it a different network name from my Windows computer. I haven't had time to try to figure out what to do to get them to talk to each other.

    So I would like to get the linux computer back on line and while at it, get the two computers to talk to each other.

    I have no idea where to start. Please assist.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect that way. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect. (I haven't had to do this with Ubuntu yet, but the procedure should work; have used it with Windows successfully.)

    Different workgroup name?
     
  3. Odyssey

    Odyssey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    Yes, thanks. Different workgroup name.

    Have been unable to sign into my router. Still working on it. Is there a way to physically reset the router so that I can set a new password? It is a dLink DL-604.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    Reset the router to factory default settings. Usually by holding the recessed reset button for 10 to 20 seconds, but best to check instructions for your model. If you don't have the user manual on a CD it should be available on D-Link's web site.
     
  5. Odyssey

    Odyssey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    I'm in but don't see anything about encryption
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's called "Security Mode" on my DIR-615 (see attached).
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Odyssey

    Odyssey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    Thanks,

    Thinking about this overnight, if the other computers on the network are communicating normally with the internet, and if there is an encryption problem with the linux computer, isn't it more likely that the problem is on the computer end rather than with the router?

    I am leaving shortly for one week of travel. Will pick up this thread when I return and have access to the linux computer.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031040

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice