Network access halted

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Odyssey

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2003
Messages
234
When I returned from two days travel, my linux computer has stopped finding the internet and can't print to network printer.

router is DHCP

ifconfig -a yields

[email protected]:~$ ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 48:5b:39:94:28:00
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:44 Base address:0x4000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:149712 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:149712 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:11433552 (11.4 MB) TX bytes:11433552 (11.4 MB)

whereas my Windows computer (plugged into the same ethernet router) shows the default gateway as 192.168.0.1. The windows computer finds the internet normally.

If I try to ping either 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.0.105 (the windows computer) from the linux computer, it returns:

"Network is unreachable"

When I first installed Ubuntu (10.4) on the linux computer, I inadvertently gave it a different network name from my Windows computer. I haven't had time to try to figure out what to do to get them to talk to each other.

So I would like to get the linux computer back on line and while at it, get the two computers to talk to each other.

I have no idea where to start. Please assist.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,446
Disable encryption on the router and try to connect that way. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect. (I haven't had to do this with Ubuntu yet, but the procedure should work; have used it with Windows successfully.)

different network name from my Windows computer.
Different workgroup name?
 

Odyssey

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2003
Messages
234
Yes, thanks. Different workgroup name.

Have been unable to sign into my router. Still working on it. Is there a way to physically reset the router so that I can set a new password? It is a dLink DL-604.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,446
Reset the router to factory default settings. Usually by holding the recessed reset button for 10 to 20 seconds, but best to check instructions for your model. If you don't have the user manual on a CD it should be available on D-Link's web site.
 

Odyssey

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2003
Messages
234
Thanks,

Thinking about this overnight, if the other computers on the network are communicating normally with the internet, and if there is an encryption problem with the linux computer, isn't it more likely that the problem is on the computer end rather than with the router?

I am leaving shortly for one week of travel. Will pick up this thread when I return and have access to the linux computer.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top