Solved Network adaptor: Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet disable

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Davie2046

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
2
Hi. Thanks for allowing me join this forum. On my home/office based HP PC (running Windows 10 Pro) I purchased and installed earlier today the 'AVG Driver Updater' tool. Installed and ran it, but it stopped on the last identified required update (of 18) - Windows Update Agent. At the outset of the process advised on screen that a change was going to be made to the current Internet access on the PC. Default would, for the period of the updates, be through AVG not Windows (or something like that) and on completion of upgrades would revert back. Now I cannot get the Ethernet adaptor on the PC to (re)start. Showing a code 10 error. Means no Internet access possible. I've tried the restore option on 'AVG Driver Updater', rebooted etc. I can see on the Ethernet card in Device Manager no MAC address is specified. Is that an issue? Not seeing any other issues on Device Manager. Appreciate any steers anyone can give me. Many thanks. David
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,400
Install the latest drivers from HP's web site.

I have no idea what damage that AVG thing may have done or how to recover from it if installing the proper drivers does not help.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Have you tried a System Restore through Windows?

Or in Device Manager right click on the Ethernet card and uninstall the driver, it may offer to roll back to the previous driver and hopefully work, if not just uninstall it anyways and reboot.

If that works I'd uninstall AVG Driver Updater, any other AVG junk including their AV, and avoid using any sort of driver updater from any company that sells that kind of junk.
 

Davie2046

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
2
Thanks @TerryNet and @Triple6 for your responses. I tried the Windows restore and that brought the card back to full life. Relieved! Cautions next time I use any utilities.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top