1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network cable unplugged but its plugged in

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Rkesh88, May 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rkesh88

    Rkesh88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hey I have a broadcom netxtreme 57xx built in ethernet to my dell computer with the latest drivers. The cables all plugged in, ive checked all connections and cables yet it still wont connect to the internet. There was a storm a couple of days ago could it be possible that the ethenet although it is intergrated into the motherboard is fried? In my IPCONFIG/All it reads
    host name Singh2
    Primary DNS suffix (nothing)
    Node type Hybrid
    IP routing avail. no
    WINS proxy enabled no
    Ethernet adapter Local area connection
    Media State Media disconnected
    Description broadcom netxtreme 57xx gigabit controller
    physical address 00-18-8b-19-d1-89

    Do i need to install a new NIC card or is there anyway i can fix this? Thanks
    Oh an also my macbook connects fine using the same ethernet cable as used to connect to the pc above.
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,189
    Very possible that it could be fried. I would get a new NIC
     
  3. Rkesh88

    Rkesh88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Okay i put in a new NIC dynex dx-e102 into the pc loaded the newest drivers and now i keep getting limitied to no connectivity. my ipconfig looks like
    media state media disconnected
    ethernet adapter local area connection 4
    connection specific DNS suffix
    autoconfig IP address: 169.254.xxx.xx
    subnet mask 255.255.0.0
    default gateway (nothing)

    Any other ideas? i did Ipconfig release and renew but i keep on getting the error that i cannot renew my ip and that i am unable to connect to my dhcp server.
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,189
    Have you tested the other end of this connection like the switch or router that the cable is plugged into?
     
  5. Rkesh88

    Rkesh88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Its not going to a router, it goes directly from cable modem to the new NIC card
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,543
    You power cycled the modem when switching the device connected to it, right?
     
  7. Rkesh88

    Rkesh88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Yeah power cycled it. my brain is tired from thinking what else to do. Im gonna give it a rest but if you guys can think of anything else thanks in advance. Ill update tmrw
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,543
    Sometimes when a power surge takes out an ethernet controller it also fries enough of the motherboard that a PCI NIC also does not work. When that happens sometimes a USB ethernet (or wireless) adapter will work.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/999843