1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Network Cable Unplugged" message on XP SP2c & DUAL LAN

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Mari0-Br0s, Apr 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mari0-Br0s

Mari0-Br0s Thread Starter

Hey guys,

First of all, I would like to say that I am an IT tech, so there's no need to explain everything in details. I'm posting here, because I'm having trouble with some hardware compatibility that happens only with Windows XP Service Pack 2c , and not SP2.

I might as well post this in the Hardware subforum.

According to Microsoft, there's nothing that was added to the OS, other than a new range of license keys. But for what I can see, there's definately something different other than that in the OS.

Here are some specs of the systems I am using.

ASUS P5K-E (onboard Marvell Yukon 88e8056)
    Intel PRO/1000 GT (plugged in the third PCI slot)

Ok, let's explain this crazy bug:

Once the Intel PRO/1000 GT drivers are installed, the Marvell Yukon 88e8056 will stop working. It'll say "Network cable unplugged", even if there's a cable connected. The NIC LEDs are still actives, but Windows won't detect the network cable anymore.

It's looks like the Intel drivers are corrupting the Marvell ones.

Here's what I am tried and verified:

- The devices are on different IRQs

- I plugged the Intel PRO/1000 GT in the third and second PCI slots, so that both card would not share the same bus (First PCI slot shares the same bus with the onboard Ethernet controller)

- I've updated both devices to their lastest drivers.

- I've uninstalled-reinstalled both devices drivers.

- I've tested my network cables, and they're all top shape!

- I've tested all my switches, in different ports, they're all top notch!