1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network card ? and shutdown problems Win 98SE

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by ozegirl, Apr 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ozegirl

    ozegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    I am having problems getting an old Zeos computer to shutdown and/or restart correctly. The computer originally had Win95 installed & everything worked OK. I reformatted and installed clean Win98SE.

    Even during the install of Win98, whenever the computer had to restart (which is several times) it would hang at the "Windows is shutting down" screen.

    I’m pretty sure that the problem is associated with the Realtek Ethernet PCI card.

    First of all, let me say that in the BIOS there is a setting to enable/disable the on-board LAN Ethernet controller. Initially, this setting was disabled by default. The network adaptor worked irrespective of this setting being disabled, but the computer would hang on shutdown.

    I tried disabling the Realtek card in Device Manager and the computer shut down correctly – at least if I switched off cold & restarted it did so 3 times. However my next test was to shutdown and press the reset button. The first time after using the reset button, the computer did not shut down properly. This continued ad nauseum.
    I tried removing the Realtek card via Device Manager and the computer shut down. On restart, it was detected as new hardware & reinstalled & of course after that the shutdown problem returned.

    I then tried enabling the Lan Ethernet controller in the BIOS – I was able to get the computer to shut down correctly about 3 times in a row with this setting enabled and the Realtek card enabled in device manager – ie I actually had the network card working & computer shutting down correctly & thought I had the problem licked! But! It only worked as long as I shut down cold – again, as soon as I tried to reset from the “It is safe to shut down” screen, the next shutdown hung again.

    I should add that every time I restart the computer whether from cold or reset that scandisk doesn’t run. Also that the Bootlog.txt had the correct Terminate & End Terminate Kernel at the end of the file – in fact I suspect something odd here as well, because I thought that the Bootlog.txt file was rewritten for every boot but it appears not to change whether the shutdown is successful or not. I did run scandisk manually once & it detected an error in the boot sector which it then reported as fixed.

    The thing that first alerted me to the Network card as an issue was that when I hooked this computer up to another one via the network card, it magically shutdown every time – but soon as I disconnected and used it standalone, it would not shutdown unless I disabled the network card. In fact, once I even tried with both computers connected, pulling out the cable (on the other computer) & shutting down – it hung. As it hung, I reinserted the network cable and it then shutdown!

    The network card is on IRQ9 and there is also IRQ steering on 9. I can’t change it to another setting manually even though I have some free as when I go into device manager to change it, there is no option to set the configuration manually, even after deselecting the “autoselect” box.

    In the IRQ table, there are a few settings shown as “free”, however they are taken up by sound card & midi devices, which don’t show up in the IRQ table.


    So, in summary:
    Computer shuts down if network card is being used. Computer hangs if network card not being used, (whether cable attached or not) unless it is disabled in the hardware profile.

    I’d like to be able to get it right so that the card can be enabled & still allow the computer to shut down correctly.
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    What speed of processor is in this computer? How much RAM? Your best option would be to disable this LAN capability in Device Manager permanently and use a inexpensive add-in PCI NIC card if you need to network the PC at any point.
     
  3. A Hawk

    A Hawk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    882
    Might also pay to check if remote administration is enabled. To do this go into controlpanel>passwords>remote administration. :)
     
  4. ozegirl

    ozegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    CPU Intel Pentium-90
    Clock speeds 90 MHz
    Chipset Intel “Neptune” chipset
    ISA bus speed 8.33 MHz
    PCI local bus speed up to 100 MB/s
    RAM 40MB

    Yes, you read right! This is a very old computer – it’s intended use is for my Mum to use to communicate with us via email – she is not going to be doing much else with it. The network card shouldn’t be needed as she will probably just use a dial-up account. I have found it useful though in using it to hook up to my computer in order to set it up.

    The sound card manual indicates that IRQ 9 is used in DOS mode, but that in Windows mode IRQs 5 and 11 are used. Could it be that when shutting down it reverts to IRQ 9 and conflicts with the network IRQ which is on 9 also? I’m not an expert in these matters so pardon my ignorance if I just said something stupid!

    Remote admin should not be set up unless it is setup by default as this is a new installation – but I’ll check.

    Thanks for the tips!
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    There are two fixes from MS for the shutdown problems with Win98SE. One is a general one. The other for hang ups when there are too many networked drives connected. Don't know the URL but can send them to you if you would like.
     
  6. ozegirl

    ozegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Thanks very much - I have already tried the first general update. The second one is for mapped network drives - I don't have any of those. Just a network connection.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218477

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice