Network card/Modem/ISP?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ranmas83

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
54
Ok... I use internet for lots different reasons like most i play game and surf the net, Im using a Cable Connection from Comcast using the Motorola SURGboard SB5120 Cable Modem to connect and my Network card is NVidia nForce Network... Problem is surfing can be slow LIKE 56k modem slow sometimes... and Games like world of warcraft the latency is in the thousands and i get Disconnected ALOT I got all drivers updated and still have same problems :confused: Please if anyone could help please do. Thank You.
 

Ranmas83

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
54
recent. i thought it was virus but im using both AVG and Stopzilla.... thats not helping so i figure it be my network card so i tried to use the USB and it is even worse keeping connected but speed is better maybe modem or ISP only problem with that be is another computer is using it just fine its running slow but that person likes to use Mcafreak virus protection i hate that program... but anyways ive got my Drivers pretty much updated with in this last week but darn thing just doesnt wanna work for me. Motherboard is new(Network came with it) USB is in the Case i just bought a couple months back so 2 diffent things im using to connect :/
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
91
you can try using the tracert command to try and solve whether the connection issue is on your end or is the problem of your ISP.
 

Ranmas83

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
54
not sure what to look for on it... i did save it on text file though



Here it is... no idea what it all means :confused::confused::confused: I could use any info on how to improve this here connection Cable = Dialup speed atm and it sucks :mad::mad::mad:
Tracing route to xtra.co.nz [202.27.184.102]

over a maximum of 30 hops:



1 * * * Request timed out.

2 17 ms 19 ms * ge-1-21-ur01.tacoma.wa.seattle.comcast.net [68.86.177.197]

3 26 ms 20 ms 18 ms te-9-3-ur02.tacoma.wa.seattle.comcast.net [68.86.96.22]

4 17 ms 29 ms * te-7-4-ar01.seattle.wa.seattle.comcast.net [68.86.96.29]

5 27 ms 40 ms 28 ms 12.117.180.85

6 27 ms 29 ms 29 ms 12.127.6.54

7 27 ms 29 ms 29 ms 12.127.6.61

8 138 ms 209 ms 219 ms 192.205.35.30

9 28 ms 29 ms 39 ms ae-2.r20.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.157]

10 47 ms 49 ms 50 ms p64-0-0-0.r20.snjsca04.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.23]

11 49 ms 49 ms 49 ms ae-0.r21.snjsca04.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.97]

12 58 ms 69 ms 59 ms as-0.r20.lsanca03.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.97]

13 58 ms 69 ms 59 ms xe-4-1.r00.lsanca19.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.40]

14 58 ms 59 ms 59 ms ge-1-7.r00.lsanca19.us.ce.gin.ntt.net [204.1.253.50]

15 58 ms 59 ms 69 ms so6-0-0.labr5.global-gateway.net.nz [202.50.232.97]

16 189 ms 189 ms 179 ms so0-3-1.tkbr9.global-gateway.net.nz [202.50.232.253]

17 179 ms 188 ms 179 ms so7-0-3.akbr4.global-gateway.net.nz [210.55.202.81]

18 178 ms 190 ms 178 ms vlan-572.xtrak1-b1.global-gateway.net.nz [202.37.245.158]

19 * * * Request timed out.

20 * * * Request timed out.

21 * * * Request timed out.

22 * * * Request timed out.

23 * * * Request timed out.

24 * * * Request timed out.

25 * * * Request timed out.

26 * * * Request timed out.

27 * * * Request timed out.

28 * * * Request timed out.

29 * * * Request timed out.

30 * * * Request timed out.



Trace complete.
 

Ranmas83

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
54
Ok, i re installed windows to see and did find out it was the ISP but nother problem of mine is that im using USB to connect to modem but it freezes for some reason i cant right click to see the status or anything i have to either unplug or restart computer and this is like every 10 min or so really getting on my nerve.

THANKS everyone for helping with other but now new prob :/
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
2,503
Have you called Comcast to determine what the prob might be. It may well be their side has a problem? You're running a pretty nice system with what I see from the specs. Why aren't you using a network card in the system or off your board? Are your usb connections all up to par with the drivers needed? Some 2.0's or above need them. Let us know...Jazz
 

Ranmas83

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
54
i changed to using network now. USB likes to freeze up for some reason well the USB with the Internet connection freezes when it does i have to unplug and plug back in to reset it. All my drivers are updated pretty much weekly by me, i enjoy keeping system at best performance. I'm not the person on the Internet bill and the guy is hard to talk to about anything tech so im probably stuck with the problem for awhile
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top