1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network Card Testing

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rrruff, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rrruff

    Rrruff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Is there a possible way to test Network card issues?

    It seems I am getting hiccups/disconnects with only one computer of the three I have. I am not sure why, either... I have had it plugged straight into the router and wireless and it still deems issues.

    I have not tried plugging it straight into the cable modem; however, my other computers will stay online.
     
  2. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    If it's a PCI card, throw it in another computer and see if you can duplicate the results. Or throw a known good one in the problem machine...

    There's really no other way to test them.
     
  3. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    In terms of pure testing I agree with telegramsam but if you're not PC savvy then pulling cards and the like might be intimidating. If so try downloading the latest drivers for the (bad?) card and see if that solves the problem. Also maybe just reseating the NIC might be the answer. I say this knowing you have 3 machines which usually means you know what you're doing.
     
  4. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    PS: T-Rex fan ?????
     
  5. Rrruff

    Rrruff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Thanks for the responses.

    This is a laptop I am having problems with -- I am comfortable with Desktops but not Laptops. I will try the driver thing; perhaps that'll do something right.

    Yeah, I'm pretty computer savvy, though more along the software side.

    Anymore suggestions are fine :)

    T-Rex Fan? Sure am! Not sure why you asked though -- Maybe not talking to me Heh!
     
  6. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    Wow, I know NOTHING about laptops--in fact I HATE laptops. I wouldn't begin to know how to tell you how to remove/replace those. I would assume those NIC's are all onboard.

    However, look in the device manager and see if you have any conflicts--maybe a driver update would take care of the problem. Run an IPCONFIG /RELEASE, and IPCONFIG /FLUSHDNS, and renetwork...could be a config issue as well.

    And I'm a mild T-rex fan if that was directed at me...
     
  7. Rrruff

    Rrruff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    I work off of laptops - Gotta love'em for something heh.

    Anyway, I've updated the drivers and it completely messed it all up - Finally back online, but I cannot connect with a Cat5 anymore, only wireless.


    So far, no disconnects, but I am not holding my breath.

    I believe it has something to do with the damn (hopefully cursing is allowed, I'm frustrated as hell heh) NIC -- and yeah, they're onboard which means I'll probably have to send it in and pay for them to fix it.

    Anything else we all can think of?
     
  8. Rrruff

    Rrruff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Sorry for double posting, but I just got an idea!

    Wireless is still going strong! If it proves to be a problem, I will pull out my wireless external card "Linksys Wireless-G notebook adapter" and see how that works!
     
  9. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Telegram Sam Lyrics
    by T. Rex
    Oooh, oh man, oooh
    Telegram Sam, Telegram Sam, you are my main man
    Golden Nose Slim, Golden Nose Slim
    I know's where you been oh
    Purple Pie Pete, Purple Pie Pete
    You're lips are like lightning girls melt in the heat, yeah

    Telegram Sam you're my main man
    Telegram Sam you're my main man
    Oh, ooh
     
  10. Rrruff

    Rrruff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Heh yep, heard of it!

    Back to my problem:

    It seems whenever I am using any kind of bandwidth, like uploading files or something, it'll have a chance to disconnected me then. I am going to try and plug my Linksys network card and see if that works now.

    Appreciated if anyone else could give me a hand :)
     
  11. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    What make and model laptop?
     
  12. Rrruff

    Rrruff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Dell

    Inspiron 9300

    It's like 2 years old but shouldn't be having a problem. I've yet to try the network card you plug in -- May end up doing that tonight after work.
     
  13. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    WAS that a TREX song? I got that from Bauhaus...
    Yes I'm a Bauhaus fan...

    I'll have to find that if T Rex did a version of it!
     
  14. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
  15. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537936

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice