1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network config help. Router > Server > Switch > Computers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tiptap, May 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tiptap

    tiptap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Hi Everyone,

    This is my first post, so be gentle with me :)

    I need some networking help please.

    We have;

    * 2wire 4 port ADSL router
    * Server - Running SBS with 2 NICs
    * 48 port switch
    * A load of computers running a mix of XP and vista


    One of the server NICs plugs into the router, the other into the switch. The router doesnt plug into the switch.

    The server gets and internet from the switch with no problem.

    I've plugged all the client computers into the switch - so in theory they would connect to the server > get their ips (dhcp) > then gain access to the net via the server.

    However this is not the case. no client computer can ping or rdp into the server, altough when doing IPCONFIG it seems to have got an ip from the server.

    If i plug a computer directly into the servers NIC (not the internet one) I can RDP into it, and get an internet connection.

    Why is does it stop working once i plug them both into the switch?

    any help is greatly appreciated as this one has been racking my brain for some time now

    Thanks

    Joe
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What's the exact make/model of the router and the switch?

    Do the computer have access to the server without issue?

    Let's see this for the server and one of the non-working computers in the failing configuration.

    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work.

    nbtstat -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. tiptap

    tiptap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks John

    Router = 2Wire 2700 HFV (Provided by BT)
    Switch = Linksys SRW 248G4
    Server = HP DL120s

    No. The only way a computer can see the server is to be plugged direct into the servers LAN NIC.

    PINGS FROM THE CLIENT COMPUTER CMD PROMPT

    nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [10.10.10.32] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table
    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    JOE-DESKTOP <00> UNIQUE Registered
    JOE-DESKTOP <20> UNIQUE Registered
    FSE <00> GROUP Registered

    ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : joe-desktop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : fse.local

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : fse.local
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-70-30-ED-94
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.10.32
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.10.2
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.10.2
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.10.2
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 10.10.10.2
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 29 May 2009 10:16:46
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 06 June 2009 10:16:46

    PING IP 10.10.10.32 = 4 Replies, 0 Packets lost
    PING Gateway 10.10.10.2 = 0 Replies, 4 Packets lost
    PING DNS 10.10.10.2 = 0 Replies, 4 Packets lost
    PING 206.190.60.37 = 0 Replies, 4 Packets lost
    PING yahoo.com = Ping could not find host
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If that was plugged into the switch, show me one plugged directly into the server.
     
  5. tiptap

    tiptap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry for the delay. We had a few problems preventing me from posting anything.

    I'll plug into the server directly now and report the returned info in the next post

    thanks
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/830677

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice