1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network connected but can't access internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by madartiste, Jul 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. madartiste

madartiste Thread Starter

Well, I'm a total novice to the networking area of computing but decided to give it a try (please bear with me if you would). I have a D-Link DI-624 wireless router hooked up through the ethernet port of the primary computer for configuration purposes and ease of installation. The second computer is using a Zonet USB wireless adapter to try to access the wireless network.
    While Computer 2 (with USB adapter) can see the network and indicates that the signal strength is excellent it can't browse the internet using either IE or Netscape. Evidently it will send but not recieve information.
    I'm sure it's a simple setting I've missed some where, but I can't seem to find it. The network is currently set as open (no encryption) and Computer 2's firewall is disabled. Anyone have some suggestions as to where to start hunting for issues? Many thanks in advance.

2. coulterp

coulterp

Can you ping any external (internet) IP addresses from PC2?
    Can you ping internally from PC2 to 1 and vice versa?
    Check the IP information in PC2 using the ipconfig/all command - see if it is what you would expect for your network (same sub-net as the router, which you should know from your router documentation).

Have you checked that IE on PC2 is set to use the LAN to access the internet? (IE/Tools/Internet Options/Connections. In LAN settings (in the lower quarter of the window) is the "automatically detect settings" box ticked?

3. Jest8

Jest8