1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network Connectivity Issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sillysalamander, May 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sillysalamander

    sillysalamander Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,

    All of the sudden I have limited connectivity on my WiFi network which is working fine with ANY other device!
    Please assist. I'll paste the SysInfo below. Thanks so much!

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2350M CPU @ 2.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4030 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family, 1791 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 453413 MB, Free - 400783 MB; E: Total - 18101 MB, Free - 2716 MB; F: Total - 5103 MB, Free - 5091 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 167C
    Antivirus: Symantec Endpoint Protection, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled
     
  2. rickandmorty1992

    rickandmorty1992

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    have you tried direct connecting instead of using the wifi and see if it fixes ur problem if it does ur wireless antenna might be going bad or sum files might have gotten messed up
     
  3. rickandmorty1992

    rickandmorty1992

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    also if that doesn't work try to manually put in the ip address and dns and see if that fixes ur problem if u do not know how to do that il run u thru it
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,601
    First Name:
    Terry
    Can you successfully connect by ethernet?

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with a screen shot see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows Vista or latter I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  5. sillysalamander

    sillysalamander Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hi TerryNet,

    Thanks for the reply! First off, I cannot connect by ethernet.

    Here's the rest:

    [​IMG]

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\fbroughton>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : OVSBroughton
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,601
    First Name:
    Terry
    Which one of those is your network?

    If this is a work computer please get help from your IT department.

    There is a small chance that completely removing Symantec Endpoint Protection will fix the problem. Otherwise you are probably looking at a reinstall or re imaging.
     
  7. chetan_savade

    chetan_savade Symantec Representative

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Content deleted - unverified/unauthorized representation from a company.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 22, 2015
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147559

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice