1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network Copier

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ddw23, Oct 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ddw23

    ddw23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Hi All. My church daycare was given a wired network business Copier. We need to connect 2 to 6 PCs to it. Windows XP Pro on each PC. We also have a wireless network. However, I would like to have this connected as wired. Some PCs are on the wireless network (for Internet and printing to a copier/ptr in the church area far away). We will use wireless for Internet conection only once we get the Copier connected. Will someone instruct me on what needs to be purchased and basic installation please?

    I felt we only needed a router with print server. My Pastor, who is learning as he goes but still doesn't have the concepts, purchased an 8-port workgroup switch and a network USB Hub. If this is the better solution, please let me know.

    I don't think this copier has a USB port.

    All help is very much appreciated. THANK YOU!!!
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You need a print server.
     
  3. ddw23

    ddw23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Thanks for the quick reponse!

    Won't the combo router/prt server work?
     
  4. icmpechome

    icmpechome

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    My experience is limited with these, I've only used Toshiba Copier/Printers. Both models hooked directly to ethernet and you could print directly to the device using the correct printer drivers. What connections does this device have? Do you have a make and model?
     
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I don't see in your previous posts mention of a "router/prt server". You need a print server in some form. If you have some type of combo device, that should work.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Perhaps you could share the exact make/model of the copier. If it doesn't have any USB or Ethernet connection, I'm not sure you'll be using it on your network.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756195

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice