1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Network did not assign a network address"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hotbovril, Nov 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hotbovril

    hotbovril Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    According to my searches for assistance on this, I may well be the 1000th poster with the same problem...

    I have already undertaken the fixes (solved and otherwise) provided by John Will and others on at least four threads of this nature and am still drawing a blank.

    Of course the actual answer is to go and buy a new laptop but unfortunately, that isn't on the cards for a couple of months!

    So, I have an old ACER 3613WLMi running XP and am trying to connect to a BT Home Hub with a full strength signal through a Realtek USB adapter. I have tried connecting through the Realtek connectivity settings and through WZC but both with the same results. Having run the supplied fixes, I've gotten myself a bit turned around and am now unsure what I've reset and what's supposed to be running what. I've also seen people providing reams of information to assist you but frankly, I don't really know what else to tell you!

    Here's the sysinfo

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1.50GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 13 Stepping 8
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 502 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 915GM/GMS,910GML Express Chipset Family, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 17366 MB, Free - 1168 MB; D: Total - 17766 MB, Free - 5338 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, Morar , Rev , LXA74052215380178AKS00
    Antivirus: Norton AntiVirus 2006, Updated: No, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

    Thanks in advance for any help!

    Dan
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,009
    First Name:
    Terry
    Can you connect successfully by ethernet?

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. hotbovril

    hotbovril Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Hi Terry,

    Yep, ethernet access is absolutely fine.

    Here's the info you wanted.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dan>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : acer-684c9a655d
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-E4-E6-79-ED
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.66
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 13 November 2010 00:09:29
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 14 November 2010 00:09:29

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11 USB Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-06-4F-93-37-B5
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.191.249
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dan>

    Cheers!
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,009
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver.

    On the router disable encryption and make sure MAC Address filtering (or access control) is disabled, and try again to connect.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/962037

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice