1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

network did not assign network address to the computer

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RoyceCoakley, Dec 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RoyceCoakley

    RoyceCoakley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I have an HP 510 laptop running windows xp. Wherever i go, i am able to connect through wifi with a password except for where i live. I have had no problems connecting anywhere else. All other laptops and pc's connect through the network i cant access. I get a 'limited or no connectivity' message with details displaying either 'network did not assign a network address to the computer', 'cannot connect to the internet' or 'cannot renew ip address. I reviewed a few older posts and have tried ipconfig/release, ipconfig/renew, ipconfig/all to no avail. i also tried netsh ip reset reset.log and netsh windows catalog(or something along those lines) from the earlier post i read, still nothing. I do notice that when i go to properties the wep password always reverts to one i did not enter, and once in a great while when i re-enter it the icon will show 'connected to network, excellent signal strength' but Internet Explorer says not able to connect. I cant seem to figure out why i connect fine everywhere else, and why every other 'guest' computer connects to this network.

    i connect using Intel(R) PRO/wireless 2200BG under properties>general
    under properties>wireless networks>association use windows to config is checked
    under properties>network>properties the network authentication is 'open' and data encryption is set to 'wep' while the network key reverts to something i did not enter. key provided is not checked
    under properties>wireless networks>authentication 'enable ieee 802.1x authentication for this network is not checked

    Can anyone help? Please?
    p.s. i used the info from john will to scotty2127...john? are you or anyone else out there?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    remove the wireless profiles from the PC and see if you can connect - also post an xirrus screen shot

    do you know what type of security is being used at home ?

    try logging into the router and remove the wireless security and then try and connect to the wireless network - if that works
    go back and reset the wireless password on the router - often that can help

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to remove Wireless Profiles - for XP
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - XP
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
    - delete the preferred networks
    start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to - so make sure you know the correct password , and not using an incorrect password at all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. RoyceCoakley

    RoyceCoakley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    removing networks didn't work...will have to contact mngr to access router..."diagnose connection problems' keeps telling me that network keys do not match, however, whenever i go to the properties tab, the network key i entered is not the same number of characters that the network key now shows...how is this possible...it's almost as if that tab in properties is reverting to a different network key.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the * do not always represent the exact number of characters - lets see the xirrus screen shot

    are you 100% sure you have the correct key and NOT mistyping or using/not using a capital letter correctly
     
  5. RoyceCoakley

    RoyceCoakley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    not sure what a 'xirrus screen shot' is....cant copy to other computer at this time...should be able to use ethernet connection to use problem computer on the net later on...key is correct
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,831
    First Name:
    Terry
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029967

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice