1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network Drives Disappearing on Win7 Workstation After Joining It To a Domain

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by MasterNe0, Jan 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MasterNe0

    MasterNe0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    I have a window desktop 64 bit that I joined to a domain and migrated the profile from a workgroup to a domain using profwiz.exe

    Everything is fine except for the network drives which disappeared a few times.

    Whether I am logging off or the user just sits there, it wouild disappear and I have no idea why this is happening.

    Can anyone help me with a possible solution or reasonf or this to be happening?

    Event viewer does not show any problems related to this.

    I managed to create a quick .bat file to remapped the drive on login and on the user desktop that she can run when she can't get into them.
     
  2. EpicNetworkGroup

    EpicNetworkGroup

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Hi MasterNeo,

    You might check to see if you have any other Group Policies applied that might be removing the network drives?

    When the drives are mapped and working properly, run a "gpupdate /force" at a command prompt and see if they dissappear. If so, run "gpresult /Scope User /v" at the workstation to see what GPO's are being applied. Might point you in the right direction.

    ENG
     
  3. MasterNe0

    MasterNe0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    I don't think it a GPO cause it right now happening to single user from what I can tell.
     
  4. EpicNetworkGroup

    EpicNetworkGroup

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Hmmm...

    Probably a stupid question but did you make sure that "Reconnect at Logon" is checked when your mapping the drive?

    How are you initially mapping the drive? Manually or thru GP?
     
  5. MasterNe0

    MasterNe0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Manually. I added a logon script to the user to get around the issue until I can figure out what causing it.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087239

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice