1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

NetWork Goes Poof

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Verylost, Dec 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Verylost

    Verylost Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Ok i download a free software program and everything is fine then i shut down and come back on some time later and have no Network 2 Access: Local and Internet that can get me logged on to internet so i delete what i assume what might be the offending softwear reboot and still no Network 2 and can t see it anywhere and can t see how to re create the missing network . .

    So i use system restore and that fixs the problem. So whats going on with that and how do i
    find/re create a poofed network with out using sys restore and not lose it again very strange ! ?

    Thanks for the help i need it . .
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the free software - seems thats what is causing the issue - it may have malware on it ?
     
  3. Verylost

    Verylost Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Ok dang just had to use sys restore again this is getting serious; i was trying to install www.hidemyip.com and i think that messed me up; i deleted it from add/delete is control panel and still have betwork issues yuk .

    Just checked device manager and have the yellow ! on something call istell adaptors both of them; i tryed to update both adapters but was told i have the current versions; so what now; thinking that maybe both should be deleted and reboot then go back to D M and reinstall but waiting till i here from others on that idea and getting the error " This device cannot start. (Code 10)" on both so what now - waiting - thanks . . .
     
  4. Verylost

    Verylost Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Ok hope this helps using westell modem 750015- 7 and getting the yellow ! on these two -

    isatap (CA58987-4984-90ES-CA9F01B6EDC7)

    isatap.westell.com


    so what now awaiting help - thanks . .
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    isatap is for ipv6 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISATAP and not required for 99% of networking , only some specialised programs need ipv6
    I would remove from device manager and let windows redetect

    lets see a screen shot of device manager , ipconfig /all
    also try a TCP/IP stack repair
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Verylost

    Verylost Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Ok still here thanks to system restore screech trying to post device man screen shot here goes its not that big - ok dang using paint this should be fun - ok seems to have worked . . hope you see a fix . .
     

    Attached Files:

  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the status of this connection

    difficult to understand your post - you say a system restore fixed the issue - correct
     
  8. Verylost

    Verylost Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    All is ok the last system restore not sure is was vista or one of history/ reg stores i threw everything in the book at the problem so not sure what fixed what but all restore is holding all is ok for now.

    But was wondering if theirs anything in msconfig.ex or elsewhere that i might turn off not nessicity that might him speed things up a bit ? thanks i guess mark it solved for now if no suggestions - later
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Yes
    start>
    in Search box - type
    msconfig
    goto the startup tab
    then look up each of the entries here
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/
    and see if you want to keep them loading
    very little is needed in startup
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/969953

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice