1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Network Icon has Red Cross

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Sabreur, Jul 26, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sabreur

    Sabreur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    The Network Icon (wired) in my Task Tray has a Red Cross against it. No error shown in Device Manager. Network Diagnostics don't find an error and I don't seem to have any issues LAN or WAN but Automatic Windows Updates are not working. Manual Updates are OK and all the associated services seem to be running. I don't know if these two are connected.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 4
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 2047 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mirage Driver, 3 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 74 GB (27 GB Free); D: 149 GB (17 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., 8PE667U
    Antivirus: ZoneAlarm Antivirus, Enabled and Updated
     
  2. Sabreur

    Sabreur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Couldn't sleep, but fixed it eventually, I hope!

    Lots of posts about this so here's what didn't work:
    Delete "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Network\Config"
    Disable ipv6
    Flushing dns cache (machine on fixed ip)
    Switching to DHCP

    What worked was uninstall network adapter and restart.

    Red Cross has gone and Windows Automatic Update error message has, so far, not appeared. It will take some time to see if an automatic update takes place so I'm crossing my fingers.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,140
    First Name:
    Frank
    Your computer has a 2002 - 2003 era Gigabyte GA-8PE667 Ultra 2 motherboard.
    It supports a maximum of 2 GB of DDR333 RAM and has an integrated Intel gigabit ethernet device.
    Capture.JPG
    (click image to enlarge and view)

    Good luck with using and keeping Windows 7 Professional SP1 up-to-date in it.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
    metallica5456 likes this.
  4. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,241
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Indeed. That is an ANCIENT machine. It's so cool to know it still runs.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1193755

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice