Network installation questions...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

allnodcoms

Hi Guys,

I've got a job to do for a mate of mine, but I'm a developer by trade (got roped in to this because I 'know about computers') and I've got a couple of questions...

Here's the set up, it's a hotel and he wants Wi-Fi throughout. He's run CAT5 cable to the 'black spots' and connected to routers in these locations. The CAT5 all leads back to the 'main' router in reception where the incoming broadband is. So, there's a router in reception, and 3 more lurking somewhere round the building. Apparently he's done all the hardware stuff...

I have the simple, 5 minute job of configuring them... :eek:

Am I right in thinking I can just cable LAN to LAN, and turn off DHCP on the 3 'switch' routers? Any advice is warmly welcomed!

Secondly, he would like a separate network for the office machines. Can I, using the hardware setup I've been given, lock down one of the routers, leaving the others open to the public, but still share the WAN connection from the main router? I know this is a bit of an ask, but this has been sprung on me a bit and I'm supposed to be doing this tomorrow.

As always, thanks in advance for any advice you can offer a panicky PHP developer who is in way over his head!

Cheers

Danny

TerryNet

Terry
Connect the office router by its WAN port to the main router and the computers connected to it will have the same protection from the rest of the network as from the internet. If it's a wireless router use WPA(2)-PSK encryption with a strong passphrase.

For the remaining routers ...

JohnWill's procedure (Aug. 30, 2008) for configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point follows.

Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.