1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network password problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tzar, Apr 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tzar

    tzar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Hello there dear gurus...

    I encountered a funny problem today.
    I am running NT Server 4.0 and I have 4 new users coming in today. In User Manager for domains, I added the users, with the option "users will be prompted to change their password when they log in".

    Now, when the users log on to their Win98 machines, they enter the default password, and true enough they are prompted to change their passwords.
    A window pops up that contains 3 text fields -
    1) "Old Password" (automatically filled with *********),
    2) "New Password" (where the user is to enter her own new password) and
    3) "Confirm New Password" (where the user simply has to re-enter the password she typed in the previous box)
    All the user had to do was to type in accordingly, and their passwords would've been changed successfully.

    All except one user, that is. This user had a strange problem. He entered the default password, saw the pop up with 3 text fields, but the "Old Password" field is NOT filled with asterisks, unlike the others. It was empty. So I typed in there the default password which is "password", then enters his new password in the "New Password" field, then again in the "Confirm New Password" field.
    Then the machine prompts me that the old password is incorrect. I can swear my life that the default password I used in the server IS "password". I repeated the process but keep getting the same problem.

    Any ideas how to solve this?
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If there are no other passwords being stored, you can simply delete that user's .pwl file, which is in the \windows directory.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217441

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice