1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

network password?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by zeimet1, Feb 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zeimet1

zeimet1 Thread Starter

Okay, I'm a network newbie and here's my question:

I have a primary computer at home running Wk2, and a secondary machine running WinME (don't laugh - I just never upgraded.) Both machines share cable internet access, files and a printer via a hub -- until now.

The primary machine works perfectly for internet access, printing, and file sharing. But when I use the secondary machine I have a problem. When I try to print or share files a box comes up asking me for a password.

Neither machine uses a windows logon password. What could it want? My hunch is the primary machine is blocking the secondary one from access, but I don't know where to locate such a setting. Just for the heck of it I tried all my regular passwords, even the word "password." I also tried just pressing RETURN to bypass but it won't bypass.

Any ideas?

-Network Newbie

2. Rockn

Rockn

When attempting to access files on your Win2K PC from the WinME PC I am sure you are getting something like IPC$ share. This is an administrative shre that you need the local admin password to access. YOu can either go to the Win2K "My Computer", right click the drive letter you are trying to access and select sharing it will come up with a dialog box asking you to enter username and password info for the C$ shared resource. If you want to share all of the C drive(or whatever drive is the problem) you can rename the share and give it a password if you like. Make sure you give full access if you want to be able to edit anything.

3. zeimet1

zeimet1 Thread Starter