network printer problem ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

agb657

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
4
i had a HP 8150n connected to my PC running on XP for around 6 months , but i had to reinstall XP and now trouble!

i have the printer connected to the pc with an ethernet cable the connection is set to printer sharing and i can ping the IP address of the printer, but---i cannot install any printer software it either doesnt see a printer at all or it will install a printer that isnt really there and doesnt work. I have been at it for 7 hours to no avail.


any ideas would save my mental state and would be appreciated
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
176
What kind of modem are you using for internet? Are you using only one computer for connect this printer from Ethernet? And how you know your printer ip address? I prefer get a router modem. If you give same subnet mask and gateway address they should to see each other. If you want to connect your printer directly to the computer with Ethernet cord, download your printer network admin connect software from hp website and follow to instructions.
CLICK HERE for HP driver for your printer.

 
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
433
Have you tried HP's web site? Here's a link that might be useful:


HP Install Network Printer Wizard 4.0 - Configuring a Printer for a Windows TCP/IP Network
: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...Id=18972&prodSeriesId=27718&objectID=bpj07116

I have a different model HP network printer and it's virtually impossible to install it unless you know the secret. The secret (at least the short version) is to use the Windows Printer Installation wizard to create a TCP/IP printer port and then configure the printer as a local printer (not a network printer) using that port. (I know nothing about your printer so I have no idea if something like this would be necessary for your configuration, but I'm mentioning this just in case. I would try the HP site first.)
 

agb657

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
4
What kind of modem are you using for internet? Are you using only one computer for connect this printer from Ethernet? And how you know your printer ip address? I prefer get a router modem. If you give same subnet mask and gateway address they should to see each other. If you want to connect your printer directly to the computer with Ethernet cord, download your printer network admin connect software from hp website and follow to instructions.
CLICK HERE for HP driver for your printer.

thanks i am using a linksys wireless connection the printer is connected directly to the PC i know the Printer IP Address from printing the Cofiguration page directly from the printer control panel, thanks but i have already downloaded the drivers they do in fact start to install the printer software but do not see a printer. and so fail to install
 

agb657

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
4
Have you tried HP's web site? Here's a link that might be useful:


HP Install Network Printer Wizard 4.0 - Configuring a Printer for a Windows TCP/IP Network: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...Id=18972&prodSeriesId=27718&objectID=bpj07116

I have a different model HP network printer and it's virtually impossible to install it unless you know the secret. The secret (at least the short version) is to use the Windows Printer Installation wizard to create a TCP/IP printer port and then configure the printer as a local printer (not a network printer) using that port. (I know nothing about your printer so I have no idea if something like this would be necessary for your configuration, but I'm mentioning this just in case. I would try the HP site first.)
thanks i will try today to install as a local printer as you suggest.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
176
Try to reset your printer settings, turn back to factory settings. And than assign ip address, give to subnet mask and gateway address same like your network subnet and gateway address. But easiest way, go to HP website and try to online chat with HP people. I am sure they fix.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top