1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network Problem after System Mechanic 6 installed

Discussion in 'Networking' started by B&J, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. B&J

    B&J Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Network Problem after installing System Mechanic 6:

    (Note, I’ve seen similar postings here of this precise problem from others who’ve installed System Mechanic.)

    The computer with System Mechanic installed can “see out” to the network just fine, but the other computers can not “see in” to the S-M installed machine. Has anyone figured a fix for this?

    I corrected this exact same networking problem on one other System Mechanic installed computer in the past by finding the local security policy enabled - “Network Access: Do not allow anonymous enumeration of SAM accounts and shares”. I disabled the policy and presto, the computer regained fully functioning network capability. However, this same fix doesn’t appear to work for my current problem machine. This may be because the previous fixed computer was running Windows Media Center, while my still ‘network handicapped’ machine is running XP Pro, and doesn’t appear to even have the same security policy listed as the earlier computer.

    I’ve entirely uninstalled System Mechanic, plus painstakingly searched through the Registry for any and all references to S-M in it’s various guises. That didn’t help either.

    I’ve been trying to get the System Mechanic company tech guys to help me with this networking issue since late 2006 via emails back and forth. All they do is refer me to their online help topics, none of which is applicable at all. I’m beginning to think their “technical help” is really just a computer program which scans e-mails for keywords, then refers the writer to pre-canned, and useless help references.

    I certainly would appreciate help from ANYONE!
     
  2. TheDude5555

    TheDude5555

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Are you able to ping your computer from another host? Is there any sign that communication at this point is even possible?
     
  3. B&J

    B&J Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I can use the program LapLink to connect in either direction. LapLink lets you do file transfers, remote control, printer 'sharing', etc, but it's not as convenient as a normal Windows always on network connection, since you have to walk to both computers to start up the LapLink program. So yes, a connection is possible. Also note that a normal Windows network connection from the "hidden computer" is always possible to "see out". It's the "in-bound" connection that's the problem.
     
  4. B&J

    B&J Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Sorry, I forgot to say that yes, you can Ping the problem comptuer.
     
  5. TheDude5555

    TheDude5555

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    What happens when you try to browse to the computer? Do you get a login box or just nothing? Does it make a difference if you attempt to browse by name or IP?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538166

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice