1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network Problem!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by DmFrosty, Dec 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DmFrosty

    DmFrosty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    My older computer windows xp, whenever I click repair connection, just as it connects, the screen turns blue: saying some stuff how do I fix this?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you post some of the "stuff"

    stop code and a filename if appears after the set of numbers
     
  3. jakey8

    jakey8 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    First of all, please tell what brand your computee (DELL, Acer, etc) is. Look into your minidump file. Zip it up, and attach it to this thread.
     
  4. DmFrosty

    DmFrosty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    DELL.

    When the blue background it's say some stuff, something about BIOS,

    it also says:

    Stop: 0x0000008 (0xC0000005,0x00010005, 0XEF711b98, 00000000)
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    stopp code 8 is a memory type error , not enough memory to process the file

    can you provide the exact model of the DELL - and also the service tag number , which is on a label on the PC somewhere

    how much free disk space do you have ?
     
  6. DmFrosty

    DmFrosty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Service Number I think is: CC004927

    Dell system optiplex GX270 series
    BIOs Version A02

    Disk space not much I think
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    that maybe part of the issue - if no space as it needs swap space - i would guess twice the memory size at least

    so exactly how much memory on the PC
    and How much free disk space

    i look the dell up

    EDIT

    thats not the TAG - or at least DELL does not recognise the number
     
  8. DmFrosty

    DmFrosty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    It also says disable caching or shadowing?
     
  9. DmFrosty

    DmFrosty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    I think the tag number is smudged, i can't read it
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    when does it says this and which does it say ?

    and
     
  11. DmFrosty

    DmFrosty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    plenty of space left, 12GB+, the biggest problem is, this occurs when I try to repair the connection: Before I used to let windows configure my internet, now tp linkwirless utility does it. However whenever I enable the radio, the internet does not work, then I click the repair option on the Computer screen netowrk icon located at the bottom corner of the screen, and as soon as it is repaired almost instantly the blue screen appears. I tried to let windows configure the internet instead, but after 5 or so seconds later, it is disabled.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so in essence the wireless is just dropping every now and again - and then when you do the repair you get the bluescreen - true
    Let just windows manage the wireless utility

    then post and xirrus screen test and ipconfig /all and the three ping test when its working and then repeat ALL the tests when it fails
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. DmFrosty

    DmFrosty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Ok I have not done that yet, but now I am recieving different blue screen messages:

    Stop:0x0000007

    and just now stop:0x000000050
    (don't know exactly how many zeroes).
     
  14. DmFrosty

    DmFrosty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    oh and it says: ....GE_FAULR_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

    Don't know if it is saying PAGE OR GE, because screen is too much to the left side.
     
  15. DmFrosty

    DmFrosty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Alright my dad just deleted, TP-Link wireless utility, and by doing it, he has made the network card unrecognizable. Also I don't have the CD for it, how do I get it back/
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1032299

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice