Network problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

msnikkibaby

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
27
Hello my name is Nicole T and I brought a laptop Windows 10 for Christmas. Since I had it I been having trouble using internet explorer I can only use it in safe mode. Please someone help me
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,468
OK, to confirm, are you logging into Windows and it goes into safe mode?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,468
OK, so I have read back and I think I now understand the problem. So when you open the internet browser (which in your case, it's Microsoft Edge, their newest one) the cursor does not appear to move, no matter how you click on it to start typing?

Windows 10 does have Internet Explorer for legacy websites. In the Search bar on the bottom left, start typing Internet Explorer and you should be able to select it. See if that helps. If not, go into safe mode then go to https://google.com/chrome and download Google Chrome, an alternative browser. Once you have installed that one, restart into normal mode and see if Google Chrome has the same issue.

Do you know what model number this Acer is?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,468
OK, you are still opening the Microsoft Edge browser. The problem I have with Microsoft is that they use a similar icon to Internet Explorer. So go into safe mode and download google chrome then we will try Chrome in normal mode.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,468
OK. If you go to the Start Menu, then click on Google Chrome from there, what happens?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,468
OK, so we have a machine that is not responsive in normal mode but it works in safe mode. The difference between the two is that in safe mode, it will only load the essential drivers needed to run the machine. So it looks like a corrupt driver or a rouge software that is preventing Windows to work properly. The quickest recourse without spending to much time is to do a system recovery. Basically it will wipe the computer clean and start from the beginning.

I noticed that you have Dashlane. Do you have the premium version, or is it the free version?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top