1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

network router is accessible from the internet

Discussion in 'General Security' started by creakyoldfart, May 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. creakyoldfart

    creakyoldfart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    This probably sounds strange, but I don't know if this is a "problem" or not. Based on Avast highlighting it as an issue, I assume it must be. Computers aren't totally Greek to me, but they're certainly not my native language.

    I'm running windows 7 home premium on 1 laptop connected via wifi, and windows 7 pro on a desktop connected via cat5, both with the windows firewall enabled. I use Avast Internet Security 2015, a Dlink DIR 655 router hardware version B1 with firmware 2.00NA, and a motorola surfboard cable modem.

    I run a computer and network scan every week with Avast. Never finds anything. Tonight the network scan came up with "network router is accessible from the internet. Hackers can try to access the router and then modify your network settings, even disabling your internet conection and steal your personal data" message. To my knowledge I've made no changes in my setup that should have triggered a change in the scan results.

    I disconnected the router from the modem until I know a little more. Any ideas?

    Thanks!

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Turion(tm) II P560 Dual-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3835 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 463518 MB, Free - 265963 MB;
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA, NALAE
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have a read here
    https://blog.avast.com/tag/home-network-security/
    it appears to be reporting that the admin username and password is the issue on the router
    https://blog.avast.com/2014/11/11/how-to-disable-access-to-your-router-from-the-internet/

    heres some more info about avast
    https://blog.avast.com/tag/home-network-security/

    EDIT
    I just tried out my PC with avast on a couple of routers - both connected to the internet and both using a default username and password
    i just got a green tick and no warning
    so its not just the username and password for the admin of the router - as implied in the articles I posted
    OR it does not recognise the routers if theres some form of database its using
    I'm not sure what its checking now
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2015
  3. creakyoldfart

    creakyoldfart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks for the response. I'm still digging around in avast's blog trying to find more info. So far everything I'm finding talks about wifi security as opposed to security from outside access. still digging.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    A couple of things you can do.

    First update the firmware to the latest version which is 2.11: http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DIR-655

    Next log into the router and make sure Remote Administration is disabled. Page 76 of the manual shows where the option is:ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DIR-655/REVB/DIR-655_REVB_MANUAL_2.30_EN.PDF

    Third is disable uPnP in the router. Page 72 of the manual.
    More info: http://support.dlink.ca/FAQView.aspx?f=sY5vcvfAuAV6bXgi/8WoVw==

    Fourth is change the default admin password to something else.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148408

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice