1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network setup help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Kevlar19, Apr 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kevlar19

Kevlar19 Thread Starter

I'm hoping someone can give me some good detailed instructions and advise on the proper way to set up a network. I have no formal training in the IT industry but I know considerably more than the average user as I am self taught. I am a veteran who has started volunteering a a veterans outreach center to help other fellow vets. They need me to set up a network for them. They have very little money to spend so I have to try and make do with what equipment that has been donated to them. (I'm trying to get newer equipment donated). They have 3 PCs that are 10-15 years old running Pentium 3 processors (886 Mhz to 1.2 Ghz), very little RAM and small hard drives. There is a cable modem with a Cisco Lynksis WRT110 wireless router. 2 printers. 1 PC is hard wired into the wireless router as is both printers. The other 2 PCs are using wireless G USB adapters. The 2 PCs with the wireless G adapters get very weak signal so I'm thinking of get 2 wireless N adapters. I need to set up me as the administrator and everyone else as users with limited access. I also need to set up a share folder, allow them internet access (but with restricted site access). Can anyone out there help me with this or direct me to a good site that would help me? Me and my fellow veterans thank you ahead of time.

2. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned