1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Network shows connected, but no internet.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by wolfwood25, Mar 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Hi, i've been having this problem for a while. it's getting really annoying. On my other computer, i'm connecting through a Airlink router and adapter. In my network it said i'm connected and i have a excellent connection, but when i try to get on internet explorer, it says page cannot be displayed. Please someone help me.

    Heres an ipconfig:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\John>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : dell
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Airlink101 SuperG Wireless Cardbus A
    dapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-02-3F-83-38
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.79.58
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com 3C920 Integrated Fast Ethernet
    Controller (3C905C-TX Compatible)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-08-74-10-59-A0

    C:\Documents and Settings\John>
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You are not actually connected.

    Can you connect this machine with a wired connection? If so, try disabling all encryption on the router and see if it will connect at that point.
     
  3. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,298
    According to your IPCONFIG you are not connected. You may very well be connected to your wireless router, but your are not getting an address. Is DHCP enabled on your router? Are you using MAC filtering?
     
  4. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    i'm not?! i'm don't know that much about computers so i don't know what DHCP is, encryption, or what MAC filtering is. please simplify it for me.
     
  5. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    haha ok silly me, turns out i plugs the router to the modem wrong, so now it's working again. thanks for your help anyways, I appreciate it.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/696592

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice