1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

network speed

Discussion in 'Networking' started by charlemagn, Sep 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. charlemagn

    charlemagn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    hi,

    i have a Athlon XP 1837.5 Mhz; my nvidia nforce mcp networking adapter is set to 10 Half Duplex. is it possible to make it better? I tried better and it disconnect me from the network. If anyone could help.

    thx
     
  2. 5mi11er

    5mi11er

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Only if the switch/hub you are connected to is able and allows you to connect at a better speed/duplex option. Talk to your network admin.
     
  3. charlemagn

    charlemagn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    i have a router and it is supposed to allow it. Do i have to make an update or something?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Have you tried setting it to Auto Negotiate?
     
  5. 5mi11er

    5mi11er

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Yes, set the adaptor to auto negotiate. I'd forgotten if the switch can't negotiate with the NIC, it will fall back to the worst option, 10/half. That means if the NIC attempts 100/full, the connection is essentially worthless.

    If you can manage the switch, you could also force that port to always be 100/full too... But I'd try auto negotiate first.

    -Scott
     
  6. charlemagn

    charlemagn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    i tried the autonegociate and it didn't worked. then, i tried all the possibilities, and there is also the 10 full duplex working. what can make me unable to set it to 100 full duplex? does anyone know?

    btw, thx helping guys.
     
  7. 5mi11er

    5mi11er

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Well, if the cable was bad, it shouldn't connect at 10/half either. What brand and model is the router? Are you able to configure/manage that router? If so, how is it configured? Both the NIC and the port(s) on the router should be set for Auto Negotiation.

    Good Luck.

    -Scott
     
  8. charlemagn

    charlemagn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Linksys - Instant Broadbans series
    EtherFast Cable / DSL Router
    Model BEFSR41

    it has been updated about a month or 2 ago, and supposed to work at 100 full cause the 2 others cpus connected on it are working 100 full duplex mode. so i'm confuse with it. Thank you for still helping me!
     
  9. 5mi11er

    5mi11er

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Hmm, well, I just went out and did a search on google for <nvidia nforce mcp NIC "half duplex"> Seems you're not the only one with problems with NVIDIA's onboard NICs. Several people on other discussion boards suggest buying a separate brand name PCI NIC, and forget about trying to use the onboard NIC.

    On this discussion board there is a suggestion about changing a setting to see if that helps, and discusses what may be happening to cause the transfer to slow way down.

    I'd suggest doing your own google search for something along the lines of the search I've done, and read some of the discussions to see what your options are.

    From the little I've read about it, I think I'd just buy a 3com PCI NIC and be done with it...

    Hope this helps,

    -Scott
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271270

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice