1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Networking 3 computers at home

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Albert Murbah, Jul 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Albert Murbah

    Albert Murbah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    I have an ASDL router and 2 XP home computers and a new Win 98 networked. All ethernet. One of the XP works OK. The other one now will not connect to the internet, I started a Win 98 machine with a NIC but it will not connect to the internet. The win 98 machine was changed from an old win 98 to a different machine with the NIC card changed over.
    The XP which works OK can be plugged into any port on the router and works OK. The other XP will not work in any port and neither will the Win 98 machine. Unplugging the win 98 machine off the router does not make the other XP machine work. All has been set up correctly according to the Wizards and TCP/Ip is correct. Help is really needed!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    First off, let's get some real information about the environment.

    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP1-SP2, Vista, etc.



    For both the working and non-working XP systems, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    on the xp box that doesn't connect to the internet go to a cmd prompt and type ipcongfig. What ip address does it have?

    Do the same on the working pc. What is its ip?

    You ONLY have the cable from the pcs plugged into the lan ports of the router and not the cable from the modem? Cable from modem should only be plugged into the wan port of the router.
     
  4. Albert Murbah

    Albert Murbah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Albert>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=325ms TTL=45
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=332ms TTL=45
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=332ms TTL=45
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=327ms TTL=45

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 325ms, Maximum = 332ms, Average = 329ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Albert>ping yahoo.com.au

    Pinging yahoo.com.au [203.84.217.26] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 203.84.217.26: bytes=32 time=98ms TTL=49
    Reply from 203.84.217.26: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=49
    Reply from 203.84.217.26: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=49
    Reply from 203.84.217.26: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=49

    Ping statistics for 203.84.217.26:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 95ms, Maximum = 107ms, Average = 100ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Albert>nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.101] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    VIDEO01 <00> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
    VIDEO01 <20> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
    MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\Albert>ipconfig all

    Error: unrecongnized or incomplete command line.

    USAGE:
    ipconfig [/? | /all | /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
    /flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
    /showclassid adapter |
    /setclassid adapter [classid] ]

    where
    adapter Connection name
    (wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

    Options:
    /? Display this help message
    /all Display full configuration information.
    /release Release the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /renew Renew the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
    /registerdns Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
    /displaydns Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
    /showclassid Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
    /setclassid Modifies the dhcp class id.

    The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
    default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

    For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP address
    leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

    For Setclassid, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is removed.

    Examples:
    > ipconfig ... Show information.
    > ipconfig /all ... Show detailed information
    > ipconfig /renew ... renew all adapters
    > ipconfig /renew EL* ... renew any connection that has its
    name starting with EL
    > ipconfig /release *Con* ... release all matching connections,
    eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
    "Local Area Connection 2"

    C:\Documents and Settings\Albert>



    I had trouble getting from the second XP computer to this reply page.
    An abbreviated version follows

    XP Version 5.1.2600

    Ping 206.190.60.37 with 32 bits of data

    4 replies rec TTL=45
    Pkts sent 4, rec 4, Lost 0
    Min time 303ms, max time 318ms Av 310ms
    ping yahoo,com
    4 replies TTL+47 for 1st and 4th and TTL =45 for 2nd and 3rd.
    AV 245ms

    nbtstats -n
    Node IP 192.168.1.102

    ALBERT <00> Unique Registered
    MSHOME <00> Group "
    ALBERT <20> Unique "
    MSHOME <1E> Group "

    ipconfig /all
    Host name....Albert
    Primary DNS Suffix (blank)
    Node Type Unknown
    IP Routing enabled..... No
    WINS Proxy..... No

    Ethernet adaptor DNS Suffix Description
    Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI
    Gigabit ethernet Controller Physixal Address..... 00.13.D4.32.F7.13
    Dhcp Enabled .... Yes
    Auto config enabled .... Yes
    IP address .... 192.168.1.102
    Subnet Mask .....255.255.255.0
    Default gateway .... 192.168.1.254
    DHCP and DNS Servers........192.168.1.254


    The Win 98 machine will not even let me type the command line CMD so will need to abandon that machine till I can get a replacement.
    Albert
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    For W98, the you use COMMAND, not CMD.

    You also typed the IPCONFIG /ALL command incorrectly for the first machine, and we didn't get the results, just a diagnostic message saying the command is incorrect, please do that again.
     
  6. Albert Murbah

    Albert Murbah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Albert>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [68.180.206.184] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=307ms TTL=45
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=281ms TTL=45
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=254ms TTL=47
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=252ms TTL=47

    Ping statistics for 68.180.206.184:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 252ms, Maximum = 307ms, Average = 273ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Albert>nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.102] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    VIDEO01 <00> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
    VIDEO01 <20> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
    MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\Albert>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VIDEO01
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-85-2F-6C-2E
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 25 July 2008 10:20:47 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 1 August 2008 10:20:47 AM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Albert>


    Sorry about the mistake I made. Was trying to do it in a hurry before the link to your site timed out on me.

    I put the old windows 98 machine back into service and it worked OK. I took it out of service as I had lost solitare and calculator and other parts off it and the hard drives are all full. I have a grandson 5 year old and he has possibly caused the problem with keyboard pressing?????

    When the machines did work networking, the second XP machine could not find the other machines. The working XP machine could access the Win98 machine. Maybe I need to find some good information to set the machines up for networking by doing it all manually.

    Albert Murbah. I live in New South Wales, Australia.
     
  7. Albert Murbah

    Albert Murbah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Just one extra point. The 3 machines could all use the internet before one XP machine said it has had enough. The XP machine when I first switch it on also puts up a small window which says,

    Image Transfer
    Failed to initialize application.
    Restart your computer and try again
    OK button.

    Press the OK and the machine continues on its way. It has been doing this for a while but I do not think it is related to the problem at hand. Any advice how to get rid of it would be appreciated.
    Albert
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, let's work on one issue at a time. :)

    Obviously, the machine you posted the info for works, so we need to address the non-working XP machine. For that machine, let's see this for the failing XP machine.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  9. Albert Murbah

    Albert Murbah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    This is off the non working XP machine
    Albert

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\user>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ALBERT
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI
    Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D4-32-F7-13
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 26 July 2008 10:06:59 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 2 August 2008 10:06:59 AM

    C:\Documents and Settings\user>NBTSTAT -N

    Local Area Connection 4:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.101] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    ALBERT <00> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
    ALBERT <20> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\user>


    On the win98 machine the other problem is that when attempting to open Internet explorer the machine locks up. Ping and outlook express work OK.
    Albert
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,194
    First Name:
    Terry
    I think, based on a couple posts, that for the problem XP that it has a good IP configuration and the pings show that it accesses the internet and DNS is working. So, I surmise that your problem with it is that your browser doesn't work. Correct?

    If that is correct you can try the following repairs, but also consider that you may have a 3rd party firewall (security suite) blocking the browser. Be aware that after this month's Windows updates ZoneAlarm had just such problems; ZoneLabs has a fix.

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  11. Albert Murbah

    Albert Murbah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thank you for the above. I had looked and saw that KB...1748 was due to download but that was some time later than when the computer stoppedworking. Something must have downloaded and caused Zone Alarm to shut me out. I have seen information about this so will find out how to work around this. The working computer has AVG so may even dispence with Zone Alarm and have AVG on the second XP Machine.

    The win 98 machine still cannot open Internet explorer (Comes up with the send error report screen and cannot get rid of it, only the 3 finger restart or reset button will get rid of that screen.

    Thanks again for the help. Usually something simple which I have overlooked.
    Albert.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,194
    First Name:
    Terry
    What often seems to work for other people with ZoneAlarm problems (other than the specific one I mentioned) is ...

    a. Uninstall ZoneAlarm;
    b. Install ZoneAlarm;
    c. Immediately configure it properly or uninstall it.

    That's because sometimes it gets "tied in knots" and only (a) and (b) get it into a sane state so that you can work with it or actually get rid of it.

    Guess I used Windows 98SE for almost 5 years but knew so little about it that I don't even try to help with it. My advice, and I certainly understand why lots of people would be reluctant to consider it, is to try some Linux distributions to see if you can turn it into a useful computer. The easiest first thing would be a live CD (boots from CD; runs from CD or entirely in RAM; don't have to install unless you want to) of Puppy Linux 4.0. Another, even more Windows like, is Xubuntu (I'm assuming you don't have much memory). I've got both on an 8-year old laptop, but some of the hardware in that machine is "rare" and not working well with anything I've yet tried.
     
  13. Albert Murbah

    Albert Murbah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thank You Terry.
    Since my last post I have actually got rid of Zone Alarm and installed AVG.
    Win 98 machine. I will give it a go for Ubuntu ( Aust magazine PC User has Ubuntu 8.4 on this month's cover disk. I have found another alternative in that the local computer store is changing over his "internet cafe" to newer computers and will try a deal with him for about A$70.00 and buy one of the machines with XP Pro on it.
    Albert
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/733125

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice