Networking Noob needs good setup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

flytape8490

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
703
Ok.

So I just got a laptop (Vista Home Premium), and so naturally I wanted Wireless internet for it. Along comes our LinksysWRT54G.

right now it is set up like such
Networkingport1=Desktop Computer (XP- mediacenter)
Wifi=WII and my sexy battery-rectangle

with DHCP, which was default.

Now, 2 days later, I realize that the internet isn't working. Oh yeah, DHCP... lease expiration...>_<

So, how do I set this up so that it isn't DHCP anymore?

I mean, obviously I just have to change the dropdown bar from DHCP to something else, but what one to pick? and where do I go from there, like, how do i assign the permanant IP addresses to the lappy, wii, and desktop (which I find it odd that a wired connection would expire, but nonetheless...)

Anyway, my connection options are...
Automatic (DHCP)
Static IP
PPOE
PPTP
L2TP
Telstra Cable
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
First off, the fact that DHCP has lease times is NOT a problem, and surely is not the issue here. Unless something is broken on one end or the other, DHCP automatically renews the lease at 1/2 the lease time as long as there's an active connection.

Maybe we should look for the real cause?
 

flytape8490

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
703
its annoying.
I don't want to have to
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
every 24 hours, let alone every 9999 minutes (the max, approx 6 days)

If it isn't supposed to be that way, then we must have screwed up something somewhere.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I'll try one more time. You do NOT have to do this! You're not reading the post. I never see that issue, and all my workstations are running with DHCP assigned addresses. This is NOT your issue!

When you are disconnected, how about doing this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

flytape8490

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
703
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Andrew>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Paralellogram
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : bay.chartermi.net

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : bay.chartermi.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-57-5D-E7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2830:68b6:3548:3595%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, March 25, 2008 4:45:01 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 26, 2008 4:45:01 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 285220666
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.247.24.53
24.247.15.53
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-17-09-8D
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : bay.chartermi.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.bay.chartermi.net
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.101%15(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.247.24.53
24.247.15.53
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e66:2091:3031:3f57:fe9a(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2091:3031:3f57:fe9a%16(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Andrew>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
What connection are you talking about? Your "connection options" resemble those on a router's WAN configuration. But ipconfig is referring to a computer's connection. Are you having this lost connection problem between router and modem or between computer(s) and router?

If one computer's lease is not being renewed and the other leases are being renewed the most likely problem is a firewall (internet security) blocking the Dhcp port.
 

flytape8490

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
703
these were there before the router even existed.

Ever since we got the cable connection.
 

flytape8490

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
703
oh wait, i misread your post terry

Uhm... maybe that's where the connection problems are coming from. I know the wii and the desktop loose the connection every 24 hours, but i'm not so sure about the lappy. The ipconfig is from the lappy's cmd prompt, not the desktops, should i get that one too?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Does that mean the lost connection is between router and computer? If so, just one computer or all computers?

EDIT: this was posted in reference to post #7, before I saw #8.
 

flytape8490

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
703
no idea.

I just know that I came home from school the past two days and my mom tells me the internet isn't working, and that ipconfig /release (renew) fixes the problem
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
If all the computers (and Wii) are having their lease not renewed that points strongly to a router problem. See if there is a firmware upgrade for it. Then reset it to factory default settings and reconfigure it.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Please mark this 'MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA', I mean mark it 'Solved' using the Thread Tools at the upper right. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top