Networking PC on a Domain **Please HELP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RockXP

Hello All,

I just joined and I have a question. Im a newbie at this. I have two PC's. One has windows 2000 server and the other windows xp professional. I was just able to successfully create a domain on the windows 2000 server..YAY for me. Now I am trying to add my windows xp to the domain and I am getting error message "the domain controller for the domain "GS" cannot be contacted".

My Domain is "GS"

Both PC are hooked up via a linksys hub. Can someone please assist me and tell me what I am doing wrong and how to correct this.

Thanks

First off both PC's have to have the same IP information except the last octet of their IP. Next make sure the client DNS points to the servers IP. Lastly look at your domain name again it should be gs.local or maybe gs.com when adding the PC use the FQDN and you may find this resolves it as well.

Since your working in domain mode you may want to look up articles on Active Directory and DNS.

RockXP

This is the scenario

Windows 2000 Server
workstation id PC001
ip 192.170.1.201
subnet 255.255.255.0

1. I can ping PC001 successfully
2. I can ping ip 192.170.1.201 successfully
3. I cannot ping PC002 - error unknow host
4. I cannot ping 192.170.0.1 - error destination unreachable
5. I can ping my domain gs.com successfully

Windows XP Professional
workstation id: PC002
ip 192.170.0.1
subnet 255.255.255

1. I can ping PC002 successfully
2. I can ping 192.170.0.1 successfully
3. I can ping PC001 successfully
4. I cannot ping 192.170.1.201
5. I can ping gs.com domain successfully

As you can see, PC002 can ping PC001 but PC001 CANNOT ping PC002
I did use the FQDN and that did not resolve.

I created the fwd and reverse lookup successfully.

Any ideas what might be wrong?