1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Networking problem with XP and 98

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Irontrader, Sep 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Irontrader

    Irontrader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    I had a perfectly fine working network with 3 pc's and a Linksys 5 port hub. I had a Win98, Win95, and laptop with WinME. The Win98 system was my main system and shared a dialup internet connection with the other systems.

    Then I bought a new WinXP Home system which is now my main system.

    I've tried everything I can and I still can't get the new computer to network with any of the other systems. At the moment I've only got the XP and 98 systems hooked to the hub but they don't see each other.

    Reading other threads on similar problems I saw a posting about doing a "ipconig /all" from the command window. I've done this but the results just flash by in a window on the screen and are erased before you can read anything!!!

    So my main question at the moment is how to get the "ipconfig" results to display long enough so I can view it???
     
  2. JustMe2

    JustMe2

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,047
    First Name:
    Crystal
    Don't know right off the answer to your last question.
    But did you install netbeui on the xp machine?? Should already be on the 98 machine.
    JustMe2
     
  3. Irontrader

    Irontrader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Okay.... I got the "ipconfig /all" to display. What I ended up doing is enteringe "cmd.exe" in the run window, which opened up the "cmd" window where I then entered the "ipconfig" command and was able to view the results. Although the results didn't help me.

    My XP box was a package system that came with all sorts of software, etc. already loaded and configured. I've got a stack of CDroms that came with it but none of them are marked "XP" cd. So I haven't been able to find a source to load NETBEUI from.
     
  4. jimodity

    jimodity

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    I just lucked out!:p
    I didn't think my computer was an XP Pro because it doesn't say it is and I got it from HP Shopping and didn't expect it to be. But it behaves like it is a Pro. I had given one of the XP's a log on network name as I had read in the networking threads to do if you had an Pro version of XP. And it turned out that it was the one XP that was able to join the exiting win98network. Then I I remembered also reading that all the XP Pro computers on the network need to have the same network logon names. This didn't make sense to me but I just gave it a try and all four computers are on the network.

    Irontrader: To get your Netbeui go to:

    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/windowsxp_tips.htm

    I got the program from that site near the bottom of the page but the batch file that came with it that was named "go" didn't work. But after its unzipped you can have XP install it.

    Click on your network connection which will open an option on the left: "change settings of this connection" doulbe click on that and then double click on "install" then highlight "protocol" and hit "add" and then browse to where you saved your download. I downloaded on the A: drive. I had to open a folder for the add program to find what it was looking for.

    Good luck and if that doesn't work then consider you may have a XP Pro operating system.
     
  5. funkenbooty

    funkenbooty

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    235
    Did you make sure that your XP's workgroup was the same name as all the other PC's?

    Is the Guest account on the Xp enabled?


    Hey maybe something on this page will help
     
  6. jellygumbo

    jellygumbo

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Do you have the MS internet firewall enabled on the XP box? Or any other type of firewall software? And you shouldnt need the CD to install a protocol. For the most part, all the CAB files are located on the HD. To check to see if your firewall is enabled, go to control panel/network connections, right click on your local area connection, left click on properties, lef click on advanced. If there is a check mark in the box, it is enabled, which will prohibit the other computers from seeing each other. Make sure all computers are using the same ip configuration. That is, the first 3 octets should be the same. e.g 192.168.2.X with the "X" being different for the other 2.

    To check your windows 9x boxes, go to command prompt and type in winipcfg, and I see you know how to for XP.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166082

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice