Networking problems (getting connected to the internet)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Habez

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
80
I just got a Belkin DSl/Cable router, set up the hardware, had a problem getting connected on the xp computer, resolved itself, and entered the settings into the router

but when i tried to do they same with my 98 computer, i would either get a "search page not found error" or a "cannot find/dns error"
i know its just not the internet.. because i cant do anything else

i would think it might be the cable BUT i can transfer files between the computers and the cable works when connected to the xp computer

i followed the general setup with the software that came with but it doesnt seem to work

there are advanced options.. but i dont know whaa and were to enter the information

any help would be great thanks
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Messages
118
I would assume you can see each computer from the other in network neighborhood. In the 98 network properties check that you have tcp/ip. If you have any other protocols delete them. Under tcp/ip properties keep everything at default, ie. obtain ip address automatically. See if this helps. If you have toll free and no fee tech support from your vendor try contacting them. Larry.
 

Habez

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
80
ya, i followed the guide and changed the tcp/ip settings but it still wont work :D glad they make this stuff easy :/
 

Habez

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
80
well now it looks like i cant even connect strait to the modem.. not sure what settings are screwed up

i did a diag on the card, everything worked except networking.. like i said i know the cable works so im guessing its a setting somewhere :( so im totaly out of ideas here
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Have you tried the tech support for your ISP? Some only allow a connection to a specific MAC address which is different on the NIC's and the router.
Have you tried turning everything off, then turn on the modem, then the router then the computers?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,424
What you appear to be describing is a DNS resolution problem. Perhaps you're working too hard at configuring it. Normally, when you install a broadband router, you configure the client machines to use DHCP and most of the configuration is handled without your help.

On the XP computer, in a command prompt, do an IPCONFIG /ALL and post the results. On the W98 box, run winipcfg from the Run dialog on the start menu, and post the results there. Both machines should have the same gateway and DNS addresses, the only difference should be the IP address of the two machines.
 

Habez

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
80
ya.. i said screw it and reformatted... this computer needed it with all the crap pilling up for 2 years.. now it works and im still not sure what was screwing up the internet, but anyway it works now so delete this thread or wutever
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top