1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

networking trouble

Discussion in 'Networking' started by C-MONEY, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. C-MONEY

    C-MONEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    ok i have a problem with my computer that i just reformated . i ran the internet connection wizzard but it still says cannot acess the internet. please help me. thank you
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,529
    First Name:
    James
    You need to be more specific than that ;) :)

    OK first off,

    1) your computer, is it the Toshiba machine you have listed in your specs?
    2) what type of internet connection do you have?
    3) do you have a router inbetween your machine and modem?
    4) go to Start > Run > type cmd. then type IPCONFIG /ALL and note down the IP address, Subnet Mask, Gateway, and Primary DNS server
     
  3. C-MONEY

    C-MONEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    im not talking about my toshiba im talking about my desktop, i have a dsl connection and yeas i have a wireless router between them i have 2 desktops wired into the router and 2 laptops runnig wirelessly off of the router. and i already tried goin into router setup through my desktop that won't connect and i get nothing.
     
  4. Papermoon

    Papermoon

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    358
    Since you reformatted, you may have to install the proper drivers for your network card.
     
  5. C-MONEY

    C-MONEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    well im using the ports on the motherboard so it should alreadu be installed right
     
  6. Papermoon

    Papermoon

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    358
    Yes, if it is an integrated network card, it is controlled by the motherboard. You could try installing the latest chipset driver.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,529
    First Name:
    James
    do step 4 in my list and post the results.
     
  8. C-MONEY

    C-MONEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    well when i do that none of that stuff comes up so i don't know hat to say
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,529
    First Name:
    James
    what does it say then?

    To make it easier do this command in command prompt

    ipconfig /all > c:\ipconfig.txt

    Then go to the C: drive and open up ipconfig.txt and the copy and paste the entire text here.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544213

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice