1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Networking Vista & XP

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jigen7, Oct 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jigen7

    jigen7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    I have problems connecting my laptop(VISTA) and desktop(XP) so that they can share and access files but still i have no luck doing it. my laptop is connected via a wireless router while my desktop is connected directly to the router.

    1. I named my DESKTOP(XP) as jigen and its ip is 192.168.1.101
    2.I named my Laptop(VISTA) as jigen7 and its ip is 192.168.1.102
    3. I already installed the LLTD thing in XP ,so my vista can see my XP in the Network map,
    4.I can ping them both ways using their ip adress but not by name
    5. Both Workgroup is name as WORKGROUP
    6. I already have files shared in both computer and still no luck accessing it
    7. Turned off my FireWall in XP and VISTA
    8. I dont have Norton/ZoneAlarm installed or 3rd Party Firewall
    9. I got AVIRA Premium installed as AntiVirus tried(Also tried disabling it No Luck)
    10. Printer and File Sharing both enabled in the 2 computer

    so wat did i miss?my prob is that i can ping them both ways but by using a name such as ping jigen it says its not found or ping jigen7.Hope someone can help me to my problem
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    Good job of listing what you have and what you've already tried! :)

    Do you have Avira AntiVir Premium or Avira Premium Security Suite? If the latter, that's likely your firewall problem.

    Please show for both PCs ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following commands:

    nbtstat -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. downpipe

    downpipe

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Sounds like you have done all the right things.

    Have you setup users on each machine?
    Ideally if you have a user on your XP machine (boomer) and the same user (boomer) on your Vista machine, you should be able to access either machine.

    It might be worth while also changing your workgroup to something that is not WORKGROUP. (eg JIGEN). The reason I say this is the default groupname is a default (and as such may have 'unknown' defaults itself).

    Pinging the machine name will work, only if you have your host file (and possibly lmhost file) setup with your ip addresses and machine names.
    (Assuming you do not have a DNS server setup).

    I had a similar issue (accessing machines) with my Mac G4. In the end it turned out to be my AVG firewall. So all of my machines use the same workgroup (not WORKGROUP) and I can access Mac + Vista + XP all fine.
    The MAc is a little different in that the username on this machine is different from the others, but it does not use Windows networking (other than SMB) so does not need the same username.

    Anyway, a few things to look at.

    Hope it helps.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't like to use Microsoft's default names either, but "WORKGROUP" is as good a workgroup name as any; workgroup name has no impact on ping by name.

    User account names have no impact on ping by name.

    Ping by name does not depend on the HOST or IMHOST file unless NetBIOS is not working.
     
  5. downpipe

    downpipe

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Oppss...sorry...I should have been a little more specific.

    Pinging ip is fine. If you want to ping a hostname, then either setting up DNS or assigning hostname + ip address (+ any aliases if you want them) in the host file will do this. But, you will need to have the same info on all machines if you want to ping by hostname.

    Sorry for the confusion.
     
  6. jigen7

    jigen7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    thx for the reply i have AVIRA AntiVir Premiim
    heres the for the 2 pc, and i happened to see that nbtstat command is not working in my xp computer??


    VISTA Stats
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\jigen>nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection* 12:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Jigs Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.100] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    JIGEN7 <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
    JIGEN7 <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Users\jigen>ipconfig /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jigen7
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter V8
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-25-A6-6B-39
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-42-9E-0A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 12, 2008 3:59:54 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 12, 2008 5:59:54 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 58.69.254.133
    58.69.254.71
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{9D80FDDC-2B04-4C1B-A7ED-B676DD644
    71B}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.100%14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 58.69.254.133
    58.69.254.71
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{25A66B39-0431-4708-BF2D-68AB45DF1
    82C}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    XP Stats
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mac-Mac>nbtstat -n
    Failed to access NetBT driver -- NetBT may not be loaded

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mac-Mac>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jigen77
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter jig:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA PCI 10/100Mb Fast Ethernet Adapt
    er
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-87-EC-AE-88
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 58.69.254.133
    58.69.254.71
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 12, 2008 4:04:31 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 12, 2008 6:04:31 AM

    Ethernet adapter {CC8CCA97-6E92-4A3C-AC0D-1DC193CFD419}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter V8 - Packet Schedu
    ler Miniport
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-CC-8C-CA-97
     
  7. downpipe

    downpipe

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Just a thought.

    Have you enabled mac-filtering on your router.
    ie allow both mac-addresses ??
     
  8. jigen7

    jigen7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Enable Firewall:Disabled
    Enable MAC Address Filtering:Disabled

    thats what it says on my router page
     
  9. downpipe

    downpipe

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Hmmm...look's like that addresses that question.

    Both options disabled, so this does not look like the problem.
    The reason I suggested this is that if it was and the mac-addresses were not defined, then it might be the problem. Mind you if this was the case, then pinging devices would 'normally' not be an option. However, I have seen situations where pinging is ok, but access is not !!! Go figure.

    The only other thing I can suggest is to have the same username on both machines with similar access etc and same password (just to keep things straight forward).

    Cheers.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    The problem, at least the immediate one that must be solved first, is NetBIOS on the XP machine. I don't recall seeing an easy fix for this type problem.

    In Network Connections (XP machine) right click on your ethernet connection - Properties. Should have check marks for at least Client for Microsoft Networks, File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks and Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).

    Select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) - Properties - on the General tab click on Advanced... - WINS tab - usually the 'Default' setting for NetBIOS is sufficient, but select the 'Enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP' and "OK" out.

    Make sure the following services are running (Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services). The Startup Type on my machine is 'Automatic' except for the one indicated.

    Computer Browser
    DHCP Client
    DNS Client
    Network Location Awareness (Startup Type 'Manual')
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    Server
    TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper
    Workstation
     
  11. jigen7

    jigen7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    @TerryNet

    1.just checked the services in my xp and they are all running
    2 all protocol are checked in the ethernet conection,
    3 also i tried to making a username the same in my vista user and pass. and when i tried
    4 enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP done still no nbtstat -n

    wahhhh, so its my xp comp that have problem? just to confirm how do i access or know if the network connction is ok for the sharing i always tried //jigen77 or jigen7 or the ip //192.168.1.100 am i doing the right thing?
     
  12. downpipe

    downpipe

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Whew. Really tough this one.
    If you can do //ip or //user and it works, then at least it would be something.

    There are some other options you could try.

    If you have a cross-over cable, connect both PC's via ethernet. Give
    one an ip of say 192.168.1.120 and the other 192.168.1.130. Use the same workgroup (eg ETHCON), ensure all settings, sharing and services are ok then see if you can see each PC and access them from each other.

    Possibly the network card in the XP machine is not quite right.
    If you have the drivers (assuming you are not using the Windows drivers), you could remove the card in Device manager and go through the process of adding new hardware etc.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    From the Vista try

    Start - Run - \\IPofXP - OK

    where "IPofXP" is the IP address of the XP machine. Note the back slashes (\\). You should get a Windows Explorer window with the XP's shares.
     
  14. jigen7

    jigen7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    nope not working it says it cant be find but i can successfully ping the xp unit using ping ip of xp.wat could be wrong
     
  15. downpipe

    downpipe

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Have just re-read the initial problem
    You said you have the Laptop as 192.168.1.102, but under the Vista Stats, it says the ip address is 192.168.1.100.

    You might want to double check this.

    Cheers.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/758062

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice