Networking Vista & XP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jigen7

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Messages
8
I have problems connecting my laptop(VISTA) and desktop(XP) so that they can share and access files but still i have no luck doing it. my laptop is connected via a wireless router while my desktop is connected directly to the router.

1. I named my DESKTOP(XP) as jigen and its ip is 192.168.1.101
2.I named my Laptop(VISTA) as jigen7 and its ip is 192.168.1.102
3. I already installed the LLTD thing in XP ,so my vista can see my XP in the Network map,
4.I can ping them both ways using their ip adress but not by name
5. Both Workgroup is name as WORKGROUP
6. I already have files shared in both computer and still no luck accessing it
7. Turned off my FireWall in XP and VISTA
8. I dont have Norton/ZoneAlarm installed or 3rd Party Firewall
9. I got AVIRA Premium installed as AntiVirus tried(Also tried disabling it No Luck)
10. Printer and File Sharing both enabled in the 2 computer

so wat did i miss?my prob is that i can ping them both ways but by using a name such as ping jigen it says its not found or ping jigen7.Hope someone can help me to my problem
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,838
Good job of listing what you have and what you've already tried! :)

Do you have Avira AntiVir Premium or Avira Premium Security Suite? If the latter, that's likely your firewall problem.

Please show for both PCs ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following commands:

nbtstat -n

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
17
Sounds like you have done all the right things.

Have you setup users on each machine?
Ideally if you have a user on your XP machine (boomer) and the same user (boomer) on your Vista machine, you should be able to access either machine.

It might be worth while also changing your workgroup to something that is not WORKGROUP. (eg JIGEN). The reason I say this is the default groupname is a default (and as such may have 'unknown' defaults itself).

Pinging the machine name will work, only if you have your host file (and possibly lmhost file) setup with your ip addresses and machine names.
(Assuming you do not have a DNS server setup).

I had a similar issue (accessing machines) with my Mac G4. In the end it turned out to be my AVG firewall. So all of my machines use the same workgroup (not WORKGROUP) and I can access Mac + Vista + XP all fine.
The MAc is a little different in that the username on this machine is different from the others, but it does not use Windows networking (other than SMB) so does not need the same username.

Anyway, a few things to look at.

Hope it helps.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,838
I don't like to use Microsoft's default names either, but "WORKGROUP" is as good a workgroup name as any; workgroup name has no impact on ping by name.

User account names have no impact on ping by name.

Ping by name does not depend on the HOST or IMHOST file unless NetBIOS is not working.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
17
Oppss...sorry...I should have been a little more specific.

Pinging ip is fine. If you want to ping a hostname, then either setting up DNS or assigning hostname + ip address (+ any aliases if you want them) in the host file will do this. But, you will need to have the same info on all machines if you want to ping by hostname.

Sorry for the confusion.
 

jigen7

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Messages
8
thx for the reply i have AVIRA AntiVir Premiim
heres the for the 2 pc, and i happened to see that nbtstat command is not working in my xp computer??


VISTA Stats
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\jigen>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection* 12:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

Jigs Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

Wireless Network Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.100] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
JIGEN7 <00> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
JIGEN7 <20> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

C:\Users\jigen>ipconfig /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jigen7
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter V8
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-25-A6-6B-39
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-42-9E-0A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 12, 2008 3:59:54 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 12, 2008 5:59:54 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 58.69.254.133
58.69.254.71
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{9D80FDDC-2B04-4C1B-A7ED-B676DD644
71B}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.100%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 58.69.254.133
58.69.254.71
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{25A66B39-0431-4708-BF2D-68AB45DF1
82C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


XP Stats
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mac-Mac>nbtstat -n
Failed to access NetBT driver -- NetBT may not be loaded

C:\Documents and Settings\Mac-Mac>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jigen77
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter jig:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA PCI 10/100Mb Fast Ethernet Adapt
er
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-87-EC-AE-88
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 58.69.254.133
58.69.254.71
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 12, 2008 4:04:31 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 12, 2008 6:04:31 AM

Ethernet adapter {CC8CCA97-6E92-4A3C-AC0D-1DC193CFD419}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter V8 - Packet Schedu
ler Miniport
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-CC-8C-CA-97
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
17
Just a thought.

Have you enabled mac-filtering on your router.
ie allow both mac-addresses ??
 

jigen7

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Messages
8
Enable Firewall:Disabled
Enable MAC Address Filtering:Disabled

thats what it says on my router page
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
17
Hmmm...look's like that addresses that question.

Both options disabled, so this does not look like the problem.
The reason I suggested this is that if it was and the mac-addresses were not defined, then it might be the problem. Mind you if this was the case, then pinging devices would 'normally' not be an option. However, I have seen situations where pinging is ok, but access is not !!! Go figure.

The only other thing I can suggest is to have the same username on both machines with similar access etc and same password (just to keep things straight forward).

Cheers.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,838
The problem, at least the immediate one that must be solved first, is NetBIOS on the XP machine. I don't recall seeing an easy fix for this type problem.

In Network Connections (XP machine) right click on your ethernet connection - Properties. Should have check marks for at least Client for Microsoft Networks, File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks and Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).

Select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) - Properties - on the General tab click on Advanced... - WINS tab - usually the 'Default' setting for NetBIOS is sufficient, but select the 'Enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP' and "OK" out.

Make sure the following services are running (Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services). The Startup Type on my machine is 'Automatic' except for the one indicated.

Computer Browser
DHCP Client
DNS Client
Network Location Awareness (Startup Type 'Manual')
Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
Server
TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper
Workstation
 

jigen7

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Messages
8
@TerryNet

1.just checked the services in my xp and they are all running
2 all protocol are checked in the ethernet conection,
3 also i tried to making a username the same in my vista user and pass. and when i tried
4 enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP done still no nbtstat -n

wahhhh, so its my xp comp that have problem? just to confirm how do i access or know if the network connction is ok for the sharing i always tried //jigen77 or jigen7 or the ip //192.168.1.100 am i doing the right thing?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
17
Whew. Really tough this one.
If you can do //ip or //user and it works, then at least it would be something.

There are some other options you could try.

If you have a cross-over cable, connect both PC's via ethernet. Give
one an ip of say 192.168.1.120 and the other 192.168.1.130. Use the same workgroup (eg ETHCON), ensure all settings, sharing and services are ok then see if you can see each PC and access them from each other.

Possibly the network card in the XP machine is not quite right.
If you have the drivers (assuming you are not using the Windows drivers), you could remove the card in Device manager and go through the process of adding new hardware etc.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,838
From the Vista try

Start - Run - \\IPofXP - OK

where "IPofXP" is the IP address of the XP machine. Note the back slashes (\\). You should get a Windows Explorer window with the XP's shares.
 

jigen7

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Messages
8
nope not working it says it cant be find but i can successfully ping the xp unit using ping ip of xp.wat could be wrong
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
17
Have just re-read the initial problem
You said you have the Laptop as 192.168.1.102, but under the Vista Stats, it says the ip address is 192.168.1.100.

You might want to double check this.

Cheers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top