1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

networking win98 and winxp

Discussion in 'Networking' started by IBM, Jan 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    Hi, can someone lend me a hand in networking both a win98 machine to a winXp Pro one?

    This is the current setup.
    One router, one cable modem.
    Both systems are connected to the router, and I would like to get the win98 os to see and have access to the winxp system.

    hmm..?
    Stuff that might help.
    -The router is a d-link.
    -I can't ping the win98 machien, it's ip or name.
    -I can ping the router and the localhost.
    -I haven't really set anything up manually. But did use the network setup wizard on both winXP and win98.
    -I will want to add a printer to the network, but that can be done after I get both OS's to work with eachother.

    Can anyone lend me a hand with this?
    I've gone through the forums and have found quite a bit, but alot of it is beyond me and I need some guidance.

    Thank you.
     
  2. blin

    blin

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    272
  3. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    Thank you, I'll give it a go :)
     
  4. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    Hi, well this is still a bit over my head.

    This is what my winXP machine says:
    Code:
    Windows IP Configuration
    
            Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : COMPUTER2
            Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
            Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
            IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
            WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
            Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
            Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
            Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-39-48-5C
            Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
            Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
            IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
            Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
            Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
            DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
            DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
            Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 29, 2005 2:57:13 PM
            Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 05, 2005 2:57:13
    
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    The basics for troubleshooting are:

    1. Make sure you have the same IP scheme (e.g. 192.168.0.x) on all computers.

    2. Make sure you have the same Subnet Mask, Gateway, and DNS IP addresses.

    3. Make sure you can ping the other computer's IP address. If this fails, just for testing, make sure you turn off XP's as well as any other firewall.

    4. Make sure you can ping the other computers by name.

    5. Make sure you have the same workgroup name (watch for trailing spaces)

    6. For troubleshooting purposes, turn off XP's and completely uninstall any other firewall software. You can always add more complexity after you get it working.

    7. With XP, make sure you have the same username and password as the person logging onto the other computers. The default setting for XP Pro is to require a password for network access.

    8. More details about how to network XP can be found at:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_network.htm

    9. More details about how to troubleshoot TCP/IP networks can be found at:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/trouble.htm

    10. Apply the registry edit to fix the browsing delay from XP to Win9x computers
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/windowsxp_tips.htm#browsing_delay.

    There continues to be a lot of misinformation about needing NetBEUI or to changing the NetBIOS setting. You can ignore both. Installing NetBEUI to solve a networking problem will just mask a some underlying and potentially important misconfiguration with TCP/IP. The default NetBIOS setting works fine so there is no need to change that either. At least don't have it set to Disabled.
     
  6. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    Hi, thanks.

    Yeah, I've gone through those links and stuff.
    The problem I am having is that I'm getting stuck on what's what?

    For example.

    Stp1 is ok
    Stp2 : "Same Subnet Mask, Gateway, and DNS IP addresses."
    I'm using DHCP.. so they should be the same right.
    Stp3 is ok
    Stp4: Can't ping by name?
    Stp5: Same workgroup


    Questions:
    In Win98 what shouldI enter for the Hots and what should I enter for the Domain.
    I am trying to manually configure the tcp/ip.

    Thanks
     
  7. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    And you have absolutely no firewall software installed or enabled?

    I would also not assume anything.

    If you want to assign the TCP/IP information, you can do that if you want.
     
  8. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    hmm..ok.

    Yes, the winxp Firewall is disabled.

    So then I'm pretty much lost.

    Are you saying I should manually configre the Ip, Wins, Dns, for both xp and win98?

    edit:

    What is wins?

    Thanks :)
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    I never suggested manually configuring TCP/IP in this post - "If you want to assign the TCP/IP information, you can do that if you want."

    Was just responding to yours wanting to do this - "I am trying to manually configure the tcp/ip"

    So if you want to configure TCP/IP manually, then use the same IP scheme as the router. The same subnet, gateway and DNS IP addresses. Sometimes I've had more consistent results putting in the actual DNS servers your router will be using rather than the router's IP address. But testing will help with that.

    If you don't have a WINS server, don't mess with it. Also you do not need to enter in a domain name if you want to manually set your DNS address.

    But again, I would not assume anything regarding what IP address information you are getting from DHCP. It may be correct but may also be worth taking the time to see what it is.
     
  10. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    Well if I get my ips, I get the 192.168.0.101/100

    I'll get rid of any wins settings I've changed.

    Ok, so assuming that is all setup right.
    The dns, ip, workgroup.

    Now what?
    Win98 shows the win98 computer on the network, but it doesn't see the winxp machine. And the winxp machine doesn't show anything. Even after running the network wizard it still doesn't seem like a network is setup up? I don't even see the winxp machine in the workgroup?

    Any ideas..?
     
  11. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Since the networking is not working, I would not assume too much.

    On each computer can you run IPCONFIG /ALL and see what IP address information each one is getting. Once you know that is correct, they you can move on from there.

    Since it seems some TCP/IP settings may have been changed from the default, can you list any that were and set them back again.

    Also, can each computer successfully get on the Internet.
     
  12. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    On each computer can you run IPCONFIG /ALL and see what IP address information each one is getting. Once you know that is correct, they you can move on from there.
    >> It is correct. They are getting them from the router, incrementally, as per the previous post. -100/101

    Since it seems some TCP/IP settings may have been changed from the default, can you list any that were and set them back again.
    >>I've set everything back

    Also, can each computer successfully get on the Internet.
    >>yes
     
  13. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    The erro I keep getting is that there is no network path each time I try to map a drive?
     
  14. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If you can't ping by name, there is no point in trying to map network drives. That is why I have the testing suggestions in the order they are.

    When you run IPCONFIG /ALL, what IP address information are you getting. This also includes the gateway and DNS addresses as well.

    What settings were changed from the defaults?
     
  15. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Also reread some posts.

    The first one states "I can't ping the win98 machien, it's ip or name."

    Then later on "Stp3 is ok" -which is pinging by IP.

    What is the current ping status - Can both computers be pinging by IP? Can both computers be pinged by name?

    What has change to start to allow you to ping at least by IP address.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324513

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice