networking with broadband router

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lewy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
103
Can anyone please help?
I'm trying to network my desktop running win 98SE to my laptop running win XP. I can get the PC's to network ok, the problems I keep running into is the router has to after varying amounts of time has to be reset to it's default settings. I have also relied on it's firewall protection only to be hit by some nasty viruses, I tried auto IP settings and static settings but the problem persists. Any ideas would be welcome. Thanks.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
First, don't trust just the router to protect you, use a software firewall and a good antivirus program.
Second, what's the problem? Exactly?
Do you get disconnected from the internet?
How do you connect to the internet?
 

lewy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
103
The problem is the internet connection keeps disconnecting.
But after reseting the router by it's default button the connection's ok.
I have Norton's firewall installed, but with this enabled I can't get a connection. The connection that I'm running at present is through a Terayon modem via usb, which was the original set up proir to me trying to connect with the router. The router when experiencing problems does show FDX/COL lights on the led panel. Any idea's thanks Adrian.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
So you're going from the usb modem to one computer's usb port and then from the NIC in that computer to the router and then to the other computer?
Do you have any other USB devices on that computer?
Exactly how are you setup?
:confused:
 

lewy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
103
Hello Del
I'm currently useing usb from modem to pc without the router connected,I have had no problems with this type of connection.
My set up with the router is:- Ethernet cable from modem to WAN port on the router, then one Ethernet cable from router to NIC in PC and one Ethernet cable from router to Laptop.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
What brand and model is the router? Is it new?
If you don't get disconnected when by-passing the router, seems evident that the router is the problem. You might call the tech support for the router company or try to exchange it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top