1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Networking with Vista computers

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lauraharper8, Mar 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lauraharper8

    lauraharper8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I'm trying to set up a home network that involves three computers, all on the same wireless router. The main computer is running Vista, but the other two are XP. I can't, for the life of me, figure out how to share a folder/file between computers. I followed all the Windows support info, including making the network private, turning on file sharing, making sure the LLTD is installed, etc. I thought that maybe the Norton Antivirus was holding me back, so I ensured that each computer was listed as a Trusted exception. This is driving me crazy. Any ideas??
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    PC Chuck's Windows XP And Vista On The LAN Together
    http://networking.nitecruzr.net/2006/12/windows-xp-and-vista-on-lan-together.html

    it may well be Norton, it does have a habit of blocking access on the firewall

    have a look at the ip assigned to each PC and see if you can ping them
    Start>run>cmd

    ipconfig

    will give you the IP

    and PING with the IP number will see if you can connect to the computer


    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown as the IP address in the ipconfig }
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
     
  3. lauraharper8

    lauraharper8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Judith Knoll>Ping 192.168.1.115

    Pinging 192.168.1.115 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.115:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what does that represent - the IP address of one of the other PCs is 192.168.1.115
    if so , then its not accessible across the network - i would suspect the firewall and norton and try and turn those off

    are all the PCs connected by cable to the router or wireless
    if cable - then you could try safemode with networking and see if that helps and will at least show something in normal start up is blocking

    as the PC(s) start keep tapping F8 a menu appears choose
    safemode with networking
     
  5. lauraharper8

    lauraharper8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Yes. the IP address 115 is the Vista computer that I mainly use.

    all the computers are wireless to the router.

    I just rebooted the XP computer in "safemode with networking"
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    "safemode with networking" doesn't normally work with the wireless adapter unfortunately

    turn off the norton security suite - if possible on both PCs and see if you can now ping in both directions from XP to vista and vista to XP - using the ips of both pcs
     
  7. lauraharper8

    lauraharper8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Holy crap. Now the computers are all talking to each other. Weird. So how do I get around Norton? Keeping it working to protect me, but still letting needed info go through the firewall?

    BTW - thank you so much for your help thus far.
     
  8. lauraharper8

    lauraharper8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Beautiful! I was able to get to the shared folder. Then I turned Norton back on for all the computers, but the connection still stands. What a load off! This is going to make work so much easier. Thank you a million times over!
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome, you should be able to put an IP range into the Norton to allow your local network through -
    the range I would suggest to put in 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.254


    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Networking Vista computers
  1. flavallee
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    99
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/986288

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice