Networking XP and 2000

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

stephen63

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
14
I've decided to create a home network.

When I inserted the Net Setup floppy I made on the XP computer, this error:

The Network Setup Wizard is supported only on Windows 98, Windows 98 SE, Windows ME, and Windows XP. Instructions for configuring a network for other OS' can be found in the help files on those systems.
Yeah, I can't find those help files..

So... how do you network a XP machine with a 2000?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Messages
1,230
Question for you

How are you connected to the two machines together?
 

stephen63

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
14
My XP is connected to the wireless router through an ethernet cable, and the 2000 laptop is wirelessly connected to that same router.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,137
You need to make sure both computers are members of the same workgroup and each computer has a unique name. Next select some files, folders, printers, etc to share. As long as you have a functioning nic card, you should be able to view / share files.

Note you will need to logon to the computer you are trying to connect to. If you do not want to have to logon each time you restart one of the systems, you will need to create an account on the system with the same name as the one you are one now.

An example would be trying to access a system on my home network. I log onto my machine with the account XXX. I would need to create an account on the machine I am trying to access for XXX. If you do not do this, you will be prompted to logon when you access the system.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,137
Control panel>system properties>network>identification. Now go to properties and type in whatever workgroup name you want. Windows defaults to "workgroup"
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Actually, XP-Home defaults to MSHOME, however 2K and XP-Pro use WORKGROUP as their defaults. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top