1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Networking XP and Media Center

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mrtechnique, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mrtechnique

    mrtechnique Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    I'm having problems networking a friend's desktop running Windows XP Home Edition and his laptop running Windows XP Media Center Edition. I've run the Network Setup Wizard on the desktop and saved the settings to a flash drive. Then I ran the file on the flash drive on the laptop. Even though I did this, the computer are still not showing that they are networked together. The router he's using is a Linksys. I was going to see if the computers could ping each other but could not get an IP address for either computer when I ran IPConfig. Perhaps someone could help me?
     
  2. jackdw

    jackdw

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    Are both computers actually getting an IP? Check system tray.
    Can both of them bring up a webpage?
     
  3. mrtechnique

    mrtechnique Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Both of them are connected to the internet.
     
  4. mrtechnique

    mrtechnique Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Also, how do I get to the system tray?
     
  5. jackdw

    jackdw

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    The system tray is by the clock, all the little icons.

    Run network setup on both computers. Don't copy the settings, just make sure you enter the same workgroup name on both.

    Any firewalls on either of them?
     
  6. mrtechnique

    mrtechnique Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    They have the Windows Firewall Enabled.
     
  7. jackdw

    jackdw

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    Shoudn't make a difference. Turn it off to try it.

    Start > Connect To > Show all connections > (on left) Change windows firewall settings
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/541423

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice