1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Networking XP to win98se

Discussion in 'Networking' started by carsick, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. carsick

    carsick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    I just bought a laptop running xp home and a linksys wrt54g ver 2 wireless router. I also have a desktop running win98se. I'm trying to setup a home network so that I can print from my laptop to my desktop printer.

    I used the network setup wizard on both pc's hoping that would do the trick. No go. I get the message on my laptop "you may not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions".

    I guess I'm the administrator. Help. Where do I start?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    All machines are must be in the same subnet, i.e. 192.168.0.x where x is any number. The subnet mask should be 255.255.255.0 for most small networks.

    Turn off any firewalls for debugging. If the firewall is the problem, you'll have to configure it to allow access to "trusted zone" addresses.

    PING each computer by IP address, and if successful, PING by name. You can obtain the IP address of a computer by opening a command prompt (DOS window) and typing IPCONFIG. This should work for any Windows version.

    All computers should be in the same workgroup for computer browsing to function properly. File & Print Sharing has to be enabled on any computer you wish to share files or printers from. You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

    If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Neighborhood, make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login.

    While the default NetBIOS setting is correct for normal network configurations, it's possible for it to be altered, and it costs nothing to make sure it's correct. NETBIOS over TCP/IP must be enabled for normal network browsing.
     
  3. pinntech

    pinntech

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    893
    Hello..

    Couldn't have said it better JOHNWILL... I liked that response, you didn't leave anything out at all.

    I concur with JOHNWILL.

    One thing I might add, depending on what router you are using, your network might be addressing 192.168.1.x, where x is any number from 1 to 255.

    Have a great day...

    Shane
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That's what the i.e. is for. :D
     
  5. quacks

    quacks

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    I just got done fightin the same battle and John kept on me about firewalls -good thing too I found a firewall that I didnt know as there in my AV program -turned it off and SHAAAZAAMMM everything works now
     
  6. pinntech

    pinntech

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    893
    Oh... I wasn't being PARTICULAR.. I really did like the POST. No sarcasm at all.

    I thought it was excellent.
     
  7. shockeymoe

    shockeymoe

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    and I appreciate the advice here. I will try to find firewalls and I will check the account settings and the NETBIOS. What really gets my goat here is that the wizards :rolleyes: from Microfaust (along with the troubleshooters) are so bad at dealing with these types of issues. My favourite is the "check with your system administrator" message. The administrator has all the answers of course, even though its me! I'm my own "go to" guy! Why didn't I just ask myself?
    Sorry for ranting. I just spent 4 hours at a friend's house trying to set up sharing on his new wireless network. I'll be going back again soon so I hope the advice here applies.
     
  8. murray654

    murray654

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    But if you are in the bushveld you would be wrong! :D
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    The basics for troubleshooting are:

    1. Make sure you have the same IP scheme (e.g. 192.168.0.x).

    2. Make sure you have the same Subnet Mask, Gateway, and DNS IP addresses.

    3. Make sure you can ping the other computer's IP address. If this fails, just for testing, make sure you turn off XP's as well as any other firewall.

    4. Make sure you can ping the other computers by name.

    5. Make sure you have the same workgroup name (watch for trailing spaces)

    6. For troubleshooting purposes, turn off XP's and any other firewall software. You can always add more complexity after you get it working.

    7. With XP, make sure you have the same username and password as the person logging onto the other computers. The default setting for XP Pro is to require a password for network access.

    8. More details about how to network XP can be found at:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_network.htm

    9. More details about how to troubleshoot TCP/IP networks can be found at:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/trouble.htm

    10. Apply the registry edit to fix the browsing delay from XP to Win9x computers
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/windowsxp_tips.htm#browsing_delay.

    There continues to be a lot of misinformation about needing NetBEUI or to changing the NetBIOS setting. You can ignore both. Installing NetBEUI to solve a networking problem will just mask a some underlying and potentially important misconfiguration with TCP/IP. The default NetBIOS setting works fine so there is no need to change that either.
     
  10. carsick

    carsick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the advice. I was using Zone Alarm, free version, and needed to setup a trusted zone for my laptop via its ip address. I also had to do the same for Norton Internet Security software, firewall settings, on my laptop.

    I can now share files and print from my laptop!!! Thanks again for the correct advice!!!
     
  11. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Amazing how often that it the cause of problems networking. At least you can uninstall or disable them until you get it all working. Then add the firewall back in again. Then if it doesn't work you at least know the cause of the problem.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/270976

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice