1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

networking XP

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Smeggly, Jan 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Smeggly

    Smeggly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I had my two computers networked. Both using XP. Internet sharing is working but now second PC cannot access files on the host. Freezes up. Must restart.
    Ran the wizard set up on both. Ran network diaganostics and are said to be okay. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    What version of XP do you have? Not sure you can network the home edition....maybe I am thinking of domain networking.
     
  3. Smeggly

    Smeggly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    XP home Edition
    It was working fine until we loaded Microsoft Publisher. Can that change anything?
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Did you try to install one copy of XP on two computers? If you did that is more than likely your problem. WIth the new activation you can only install it on one PC per copy of the OS. The activation will become disabled once the mothership finds it has an unlicensed copy on one PC.
     
  5. Smeggly

    Smeggly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I have two separate activations. The AMD( host) computer can see files on the Micron, but the Micron freezes when I attempt to look at files on the AMD. Both connect to internet fine.
    Reinstalled XP. Ran Networking wizard several times. No change.
     
  6. Lem0njell0

    Lem0njell0

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Messages:
    68
    Have you disabled the built-in so-called "firewall'?

    I had a similar problem with one of my clients and as soon as I disabled that it worked correctly.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63876

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice