1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New and saying hello...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by LeMec, Feb 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LeMec

LeMec Thread Starter

I have been asked to take over "The IT guy" duties for a charity organisation.

Although I am a programmer by trade, I have a very limited knowledge of networking, but I figured, "How hard can that be?".

Well the answer is: "Very hard!" So I need some basic advice. I have been reading a lot of documentation in order to even try to post an intelligent question.

We have a small office network with about 34 hosts (4 network printers and about 30 PCs).

Sometimes our network gets very slow. Our users make extensive use of file sharing and a lot of files are simply stored on our server and users access them through map drives.

We have one server (Win Server 2003 R2). It is a decent machine. I am trying to figure out if a small change(I won't tackle more than that now) can help performance.

Here is our setup:

Cable Modem --> Router ->
    Our server plugs in to our router(I am not sure if it is the best way, please give feedback), along with 3 other switches.

All our hosts are connected to those switches.

We also have an internet cafe area, where one cable comes off one of the switches into a 5 port hub and where 4 computer are connected.

Our switches are only "Fast Ethernet" and I am pretending that getting Gigabit Ethernet switches would help.

Also, Should we get a good switch, have it come off the router, and have the server, printers and other switches conneted
    to it?

Every feedback is very encouraged and welcomed as I will learn from every comment.

Regards.

2. ETech7

ETech7